2011 iMac not connecting to TV

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sutton Dagger, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. Sutton Dagger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #1
    Alright so I did some research regarding the viability of hooking up my 2011 iMac through MDP/thunderbolt to my Samsung LCD TV and most people were recommending the mono price adapter. I purchased this mono-price mini display port to HDMI adapter
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10428&cs_id=1042802&p_id=5311&seq=1&format=2

    and then got a 10m HDMI cable to connect to my TV. I can't detect the display though and everything I try isn't working. Tried through Bootcamp as well and it's a no go.

    Anyone had any luck connecting their iMac 2011 to a TV? I hope I haven't spent all this money for nothing, I'm in Australia so it was a big hassle getting the adapter shipped over. :confused:
     
  2. MacHamster68, Sep 13, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #2
    the problem does not have to be the iMac or the TV , most times the problem i found is the HDMI cable , the quality differs so widely thats like the difference in performance between a iMac G3 bondi blue from 1997 and a iMac i7 from 2011 both are computers like all cables with a hdmi on both ends are Hdmi cables , but thats about it with the similarities

    you take one cable from manufacturer XY at say 2 meter lenght its perfect , you go to 5 m + and you got rubbish from that manufacturer at another manufacturer you got the opposite great at huge lengh , but rubbish on shorter distance , my advice buy in a shop that allowes you to try some different manufacturers and its not always the high price model that works great ...mine now is a chinese 10 meter cable for £2 i found on ebay after trying out more then a dozen others before and it works whenever i want

    there was a Monster cable i think it was around £180 for 5 meters , it worked too sometimes but i'm not willing to spend £180 on a hdmi cable
     
  3. Sutton Dagger thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the response mate. Funnily enough after an hour or so of trying, it's now working perfectly in both Lion and Windows 7. I changed some settings with the TV so maybe that was the catalyst? Anyway it's all good now, cheers.
     
  4. jordan.1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #4
    What settings did you change on the TV?
     

Share This Page