2011 iMac RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by WalcomTV, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. WalcomTV macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #1
    What are the chances of the 2011 iMac using the same 1333MHz RAM as it does now?
    Is there a new version of this RAM? (Higher speed)
    Mainly asking because I would like to purchase my 16GBs soon for instant installation.
     
  2. BigBeast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #2
    This is pure speculation, however, I believe it will be the same speed as current.

    BTW- I don't know what you would need 16 GB of RAM for. I run two OSs with plenty of programs and pages up and don't even saturate 8 GB. But to each his own I guess...
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    Most likely the same, given that the SB MBPs use 1333MHz. I'd recommend not buying yet though, as it could be 1600 by some off chance
     
  4. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #4
    If you are an average user, I doubt you need 16 gigs of ram either. But lets say you want a lot more.

    How much is 16 gigs (4 x 4 gigs) cost in AU? _____

    How much does 8 gigs (2 x 4 gigs) cost in AU? _____

    Lets just use some round numbers for comparison sake.

    iMac comes with 4 slots, 2 currently filled with 4 gig chips.

    Adding 8 gigs (2 x 4 gigs) costs $100. Thats 12 gigs for $100 extra.

    Adding 16 gigs (4 x 4 gigs) costs $200. And you have to pull the original ram.

    So the "cost" to go from 12 gigs to 16 gigs is $100. Thats essentially paying $100 for 4 gigs of ram. Sounds really expensive to me.
     
  5. CHSeifert, Apr 22, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    CHSeifert macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #5
    Most likely even if new iMacs should support 1600 MHz ram you can still use 1066 and 1333 MHz ram in them and you won't feel the difference unless you benchmark them down to milliseconds :)
     
  6. WalcomTV, Apr 22, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2011

    WalcomTV thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #6
    Thanks.

    So I should be safe with the 1333MHz RAM.
    MacFixit, Australia's Newegg, sells 16GB for $278.
    http://www.macfixit.com.au/shop/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=1351
    Cheaper than $720 from Apple.com/au.

    Basically, this computer will stay with me for quite some time after purchase so I'm going to put everything I could possibly need into it.
     
  7. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #7
    I wouldn't recommend buying it yet. I'd just order it with your computer, or wait until you really start to need more to buy more. Prices will likely continue to go down, and if the new iMac does happen to use the 1600MHz memory, the 1333 isn't likely to work.
     
  8. WalcomTV thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #8
    Gotcha.
    Can you even buy 1600MHz memory today?
     
  9. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #9
    You can, although it's slightly less common, and possibly a bit more expensive, nothing too much though.
     
  10. Hexley, Apr 23, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011

    Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #10
    Yes you can

    Patriot Signature 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Laptop Memory Model PSD38G1600SK

    Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Laptop Memory Model KHX1600C9S3K2/8GX

    Sandy Bridge desktop chips released to date such as the Core i7-2600, Core i7-2600K & Core i7-2600S require DDR3-1066/1333 & maxs out at 32GB. It is not economical to buy 16.0GB PC10600 1333MHZ SO Kit (8GB + 8GB) as it sells for $1,599.99

    A Sandy Bridge Core i7 Extreme desktop chip that will be released by Q4 2011 would require DDR3-1600. Knowing Apple they will not offer an iMac with this configuration for sale.

    I'd buy ram at the same time as you order your iMac.
     
  11. WalcomTV, Apr 23, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011

    WalcomTV thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    #11
    Yep. Can't wait for that day.
    Also, great job on the research. Thanks, Hex.

    So, there isn't really any chipsets that actually use 1600MHz at the moment.
     
  12. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #12
    You can buy more ram anytime. It takes one screw to install it.

    Why not try 4 gigs first?
     
  13. Hexley, Apr 23, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011

    Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #13
    I'd buy that part if you plan to OC or transfer them ot a computer that can use it.

    I was also planning to do this for my two Macs that uses DD3 & the future 2011 iMac but seeming I'd be buying my next Macs in 2014 the standard high-end part would be DD4.
     

Share This Page