2011 iMac won't mount Samsung Evo 850

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DMunoz34, May 7, 2016.

  1. DMunoz34 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    #1
    I am relatively inexperienced as this would be my first time switching a hard drive to SSD. I connected the 250gb Samsung 850 EVO SSD to my mid 2011 iMac via a Sata to USB cable but my iMac will not mount the drive for me to clone my existing hard drive. My iMac is running El Capitan OS-X. I apologize if I left any information out. Any help would be great if am stumped.
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Did you format the SSD? Use Disk Utility, and make sure it is formatted as MacOS Extended (journaled)
     
  3. DMunoz34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    #3
    I wasn't able to even format it. I plugged it in through the USB fresh out of the box and it wouldn't recognize it at all. In disk utility all options are greyed out.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    If it is not visible in Disk Utility, then you either have a faulty drive, or the adapter is bad.
    I have seen recently that bargain USB-SATA adapters sometimes are no bargain. :D

    You could swap the SSD into the iMac, then try formatting the SSD.
    That might waste your time if the SSD turns out to be dead.

    Or, you could try the SSD in your USB-SATA adapter in a different Mac, at least to try to erase it.
     
  5. DMunoz34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    #5
    It shows up (not the entire drive capacity though) but I can do anything at all with it in disk utility the options to partition or do anything to it are greyed out and I can't select them.
     
  6. jgelin macrumors 6502a

    jgelin

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Location:
    St Petersburg, FL
    #6
    So this is the behavior you are seeing when it is attached to another Mac machine? Or are you just restating post #2?
     
  7. DMunoz34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    #7
    Restating I do not have another mac to try it on. I only have PC's but the drive is being read when plugged in it just won't allow me to format it so it will be ready to clone the existing hard drive. Sorry if this sounds repetitive I rarely work with or on Macs for work.
     
  8. jgelin macrumors 6502a

    jgelin

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Location:
    St Petersburg, FL
    #8
    That's fine, I was just clarifying to see what you meant! My guess is something is wrong with the drive itself, or in the cable that you are using to connect the drive to the computer. As DetaMac said, some cables may seem like a bargain but can wind up being a hassle.
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    Good!
    Plug the SSD into a PC. You should be able to format it, and it will tell you that the drive + adapter should be good.
    (Maybe you will see a similar fail in Windows.)
     
  10. DMunoz34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    #10
    That worked so far. I was able to format it and the PC now recognizeso it as a drive. Tomorrow A.M. I am going to try again on the iMac. Hopefully I can have the same success. Thank you nevertheless for getting me this far!
     
  11. jgelin macrumors 6502a

    jgelin

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Location:
    St Petersburg, FL
    #11
    Make sure that when you do do it tomorrow, you select the actual drive and format it, not just its partition. Two days ago when I was using the new disk utility I noticed that can lead to some greyed out options if the partition is the one used rather than selecting the whole disk for manipulation.
     
  12. DMunoz34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    #12
    So I created a new problem. I was told I needed to resize the original hard drive for the new SSD and now my iMac will start up display the apple logo and loading bar then shuts off.
    --- Post Merged, May 8, 2016 ---
    Okay I unplugged the SSD from the USB and it will load now but I can't seem to boot to recovery mode so I can try and clone the hard drive to the SSD. This is such a nightmare. I am really regretting my decision to buy a Mac.
     
  13. jgelin macrumors 6502a

    jgelin

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Location:
    St Petersburg, FL
    #13
    Do not blame the Mac for your inability to properly format the right disk... No one told you to even touch your original HDD or its data.
     
  14. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
    What happens when you try to boot into recovery mode? Does it just boot normally or what?
     
  15. DMunoz34 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    #15
    If I just allow it to boot normally it will boot up as normal no issues. The only issue is when I attempt to boot into recovery mode.
     

Share This Page