2011 Mac Mini - Battlefield 3 Video

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by MercilessGunner, Nov 6, 2011.

  1. MercilessGunner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #1
  2. deafgoose macrumors regular

    deafgoose

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #2
    Since when did the mac mini server include the AMD Radeon HD 6630M 256MB graphics?

    Mine had the Intel 3000
     
  3. MercilessGunner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    This is not the server mini. I bought the desktop version and upgraded the CPU, memory and hard drive.
     
  4. andychelt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #4
    Nice :D

    That's pretty impressive considering. Seems to be running as smooth if not smoother than the desktop pc I currently got it on.

    Now to just hope that my i5 processor and standard 500gb HD don't cause performance to suffer too much!
     
  5. Ruahrc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #5
    The key here is the 1280x800 resolution. The GPU in the Alienware M11x is about the same as this 6630M and it performs quite well, but that's because it is limited to a 1366x768 screen. Same here with the mac mini- if you turn down the resolution then it probably runs okay, but run that monitor at native res and you'll get poor performance.
     
  6. lali macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    #6
    Hi
    How did you upgrade the processor?
    Thanks
     
  7. MercilessGunner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #7
    I upgraded the processor and hard drive when I bought the computer from the online Apple store. I bought the memory separate since it was cheaper and supported by Apple.

    ----------

    You are absolutely correct. If I change the resolution to the monitors native 1900x1200 it runs like crap and is completely unplayable. Luckily the resolution 1280x800 is just good enough to make the game playable.

    ----------

    The game is processor intensive. I will try to post pics of how much the game uses the i7 Processor. I wouldn't worry about the hard drive. It will just make the game taker longer to load, but it shouldn't really impact the games performance once you're on the battlefield.
     
  8. ri0ku macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #8
    What resolution you running at ?
    and
    Graphics settings ?
     
  9. trip1ex macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #9
    Wow looks like it runs pretty sweet. Had the $800 Mini but returned because I didn't think it would play BF3 due to 512mb VRAM requirement.

    How many players were on server?
     
  10. FrozenShivers macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    http://m.tomshardware.co.uk/battlefield-3-graphics-performance,review-32308.html

    Check that, the game doesn't scale that well per core IIRC.
     
  11. andychelt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #11
  12. MercilessGunner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #12
    CPU Screenshot

    Here is a CPU usage screenshot while playing:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. belltree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #13
    How hot does your mini get after prolonged playing? Does the fan go into overdrive?
    Also, are you running Win XP?
     
  14. MercilessGunner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #14
    The fan does kick into overdrive and the system gets pretty hot. I've played the game for 3 hours straight and never had any problems though. I am running the game via boot camp using Windows 7.
     
  15. crumpler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #15
    Thanks for posting! I've the exact same configuration of Mac Mini but am pairing it with the TB display. I take it you've tried it at 1920x1200 and it was completely choppy?
     
  16. glitch44 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #16
    Wondering if Battlefield on the mini is still working out for you? Or if you regret not being able to play on a higher resolution?

    I'm currently deciding between a mini and an iMac and I'd love to be able to play BF3.
     
  17. TjeuV macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #17
    Hm I wouldn't get there with my 4gig of ram. I think I just won't overdo it and stick to my ps3 for gaming :D Must... resist...!
     
  18. MercilessGunner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #18
    It has worked well for me but there are times I wished I was playing at a higher resolution when picking people off in the distance. This shouldn't be a problem soon because I have a fully loaded rMBP on order.
     
  19. dbehterev macrumors newbie

    dbehterev

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    Moscow, RUSSIA
    #19
    nonRetina MBP 512Mb GPU and BF3

    Hi guys. I watched the video and it is amazing... Is it right that I can run BF3 on cMBP with 512Mb VRAM GPU without glitches? I am choosing between cMBP 512Mb/1Gb VRAM and because price is not adequate for 1Gb VRAM I tend to buy 512VRAM model...
     

Share This Page