2011 Macbook Air Battery Life

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by dlim, Jan 16, 2012.

1. dlim macrumors regular

Hi guys!

I tried to do a search on this but couldn't find any satisfying answers.

I got my 13" MBA ~8/2011, and my current battery stats are:

Age of your Mac: 23 Weeks
    Loadcycles: 67
    Current capacity: 92%

Now I'm not complaining about these stats as I know they're normal and fine, but any suggestions in prolonging battery life (as in capacity)? I read the pretty intensive/thorough post from the forums regarding the battery in apple products, but was wondering how you guys are using your MBAs for the most part.

I have ~4-6 hours of lecture a day that I use my MBA for, and I used to just use it on battery at school and come home and charge it until the next day. By the time I come home it's at about 10-15% charge depending on how many hours of lecture I had.

I recently started using it as my main as well at home (leave it on AC adapter with an external monitor + wireless kb/mouse) since I sold my desktop and am in the process of obtaining a mac mini.

Would it be more...efficient(?) (I guess that's a good word) to use it on AC adapter while at school, and maybe allow it to drain to 50-70% (I read 50% in the post on batteries, but I've also read about users doing it to 70%) on battery every 2-3 days as I use it? Or would it be fine to just keep using it on battery at school and charging it at home as I have been?

Thanks in advance!

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Run on battery when you need to and plug it in when you can. The percentage charge when you unplug or plug in is irrelevant. Just don't run on AC power all the time. This should answer most, if not all, of your battery questions:

3. PaulWog Suspended

Mine is sitting at 98%, but it was down to 94% at one point. You'll find the reported health shoots up and down on you.