2011 Macbook Pro 13" i5 able to run CAD software?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DRGN89, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. DRGN89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #1
    I want to know if a 13" i5 Macbook Pro will be sufficient enough to run architectural type of software? I don't really care about screen estate since I will have an external monitor at home and only need the laptop during school. I just want to know about the 13" and I know many of you would suggest the 15". Please leave me details. Thanks.
     
  2. TrollToddington macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #2
    I thought all the contemporary computers were sufficient to run CAD software. Of course, it is always recommended to get a laptop with a faster processor but you might also consider to spend your extra money on a SSD.
     
  3. DRGN89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #3
    I wouldn't mind installing an SSD further down the road. I already have an i5 coming through the mail so that's what I'm going to use. I'm just afraid it would really cripple my productivity or CAD software would not run sufficient enough. I guess I mainly need to know if the 13" will run CAD software decently minus screen estate.
     
  4. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #4
    Try it; if it doesn't work for you, you have 14 days to return with no restocking fee.
     
  5. Kyzelios macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    The 13-inch MacBook Pro should be able to handle running CAD software without any issues.
     
  6. eaf7s macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    #6
    Definitely but if I were you I'd go 13" i7. The processor will still be relevant several years down the road.
     
  7. DRGN89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
  8. wesbar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #8
    I'm running Inventor 2010 & Solidworks with no issues on my MBP 2011 2.2. Even Ansys 12 flies on this thing! Running non linear FEA on a Mac never felt so good!
     
  9. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #9
    I wouldn't want to, not on an integrated chip.
     
  10. tasslehawf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    Maybe on Revit, but this is CAD we're talking about. i.e. 2D.
     
  11. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #11
    the CAD I do is in 3D.

    I just noticed the OP is doing architecture, so I suppose it doesn't matter.
     
  12. DRGN89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #12
    is architectural type of work mainly in 2D or something?
     
  13. eaf7s macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    #13
    Oh I should mention that if you do much 3D rendering etc. you might want to consider a 15" model with a dedicated GPU.
     
  14. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #14
    from what I gather, yes, but you should ask around and confirm that.
     
  15. Merkyworks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #15
    just an fyi but computer aided desgin(CAD), also known as computer-aided design and drafting (CADD) can be in 2D or 3D.

    as to the OP question the integrated chip will be able to run any 2D design software and will be able to run most 3D design softwares just fine. however when doing complex 3D models or large 3D part assemblies you will definitely see the short comings of the iGPU,also you will see it fall short if you want to do larger high resolution rendering of parts.

    on a side note i have run AutoCAD on my mac and i did not like it at all, the UI was very different from my work PC that I use AutoCAD and SolidWorkds on. I love working in OSX but when it comes to CAD programs i much prefer a windows environmental.

    also there is the issue of running any CAD program in the tiny 13" screen, I would recommend that you invest in a larger external monitor if you go with the 13" MBP.
     
  16. DRGN89 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I would definitely be using an external monitor and would probably be using autocad using bootcamp on windows.
     

Share This Page