2011 MB Pro 17" running dual 30" ACD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by EAN99, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. EAN99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    #1
    I have a 2011 17" MB Pro 2.5 GHz intel core i7 with 8GB memory. I have a 30" ACD connected to it and the set up runs fine. Can you hook up another 30' ACD display to this existing setup?

    I was told you can run two 27" thunderbolt displays, or run one 27" Tunderbolt, and one 30"ACD, but that the MB Pro would not support two 30" displays.

    I was told that it could handle running both 30" displays

    trying to get some clarity.

    thanks
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Have you contacted Apple for an official answer?
     
  3. Stetrain, Jul 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012

    Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #3
    This is correct as far as I know.

    The new Retina MBP can run two 30" displays because it has two Thunderbolt/Mini-Displayports, but yours cannot without some sort of USB external video adapter if there even are any that support 2560x1600 via dual link DVI.
     
  4. EAN99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    #4
    when I spoke to Apple, they were not 100% sure either.. called twice, was given that yes it could, called before, and they were not sure.

    so far it seems that it can support the two 30" displays, from what I been research of late, and the insight here.
     
  5. ivoruest macrumors 6502

    ivoruest

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Guatemala
    #5
    I will say that it is capable but it may not be possible. Do the ACD support daisy-chain of the DP conection?

    If you connect via a DP splitter I'm guessing it may not work. Thats why you CAN use a Thunderbolt Display and an ACD together but both ACDs not sure.
     
  6. EAN99, Jul 20, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012

    EAN99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    #6
    Offical Apple response after they were good to get some internal feedback.
    It will handle two 30'' ACDs but not the opimal highest resolution only will work on 1900x1200 for both displays maximum.
     

Share This Page