2011 MBAs, oh my..

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by hyphz, Jul 10, 2011.

1. hyphz macrumors newbie

So.. I've been using an MBP5,1 (2008) happily for a few years now and am just missing out on having a machine I can easily take to work with me. The MBP pretty much sits on its iLevel stand in my room all the time and I don't like the idea of carrying it around because it'd only just fit in my work bag and it's plumbed-in as my "home Mac" by now. As it's also getting on a bit I'm wondering if I should take advantage of this hardware refresh but I'm wondering what the best way is:

- Get one of the new MBA's coming out this year. I like the look of them but I don't know what they'll be like as far as performance.

- Wait and get a new MBP whenever they're refreshed. Problem is, I might hit the same carrying problem, plus it seems a bit goofy to have my portable machine be more powerful than my in-place one. Is there going to be an hard-disk-less MBP at some point?

- Get an iMac and carry the MBP5,1 around as a portable. I'm just not sure about iMacs, though, mainly due to the surprisingly low graphics performance. As I've seen others say it seems daft to have a machine with such a nice high resolution screen and then drive it with a mobile graphics card.

Any suggestions?

2. czeluff macrumors 6502

I have a 2010 MBA and a 2008 24" iMac. Of all the Macs I've ever owned, they've all been portable except the iMac. Yet, without question, the iMac has been the single greatest Apple product I've had.

NO PC runs this quiet.
    NO screen is this beautiful. (except 27" iMac now)
    I love having 0 cable clutter.
    I love using it for Netflix streaming.

I bought mine with a 8800GTS 512mb card. Still plays everything 60+ fps for me: SC2, League of Legends, etc.

The MBA is a fantastic programming machine. That's what I use it for. Everything else, it's the iMac.