2011 mini server & dell2711 not playing along

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by cheungtsw, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. cheungtsw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #1
    I set up my mini server with my old dell 2007 mon.
    I then bought a mini dp to dp cable for my dell2711 mon.
    If I connect only the 2711, I just get a blank screen.
    If i connect my 2007 as well via the hdmi to dvi adapter, the 2711 would display 1680x1200 (same res. as the 2007).

    After playing with it, I got the 2711 to run at 2560x1440.
    However, it is back the square one after a reboot.

    What did I do wrong?
     
  2. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #2
    Is there a DCC setting on the monitor that can be toggled (turn it on if off, or off if on) and see if that helps.

    What kind of a cable are you connecting it with? If you're using an adapter, try switching it for another.

    Try resetting the Mac's PRAM and NVRAM after the new monitor is connected.
     
  3. indg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    #3
    the mini uses the hdmi port as the primary display by default (where the apple logo appears during bootup).

    turn off mini, plug in just your 2711 first and power it on, then boot up the mini. if apple boot logo doesn't appear, then the mini isn't detecting it properly. may need to do a pram reset.

    after desktop appears on 2711, plug in the 2007 with hdmi-to-dvi. make sure mirroring is disabled in the display settings under system preferences. if you reboot, it should remember which port is the primary (the mdp with 2711).

    (note that this is also true for the 2010 mini.)
     
  4. alq, Aug 25, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2011

    alq macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Panamá
    #4
    This is not true for me - I have 2 24" Displays hooked to the mini 2010 and the one connected via miniDP to DVI displays everything until OSX is booted.
     
  5. cheungtsw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #5
    The only way I ca get the u2711 to display is to set it as mirroring.
    The problem is the u2711 only runs at 1080p. If I set it to 2560x1440, it blanks out. I assume this is because there is not enough video memory (512M).

    How can I choose the mini dp as default?
     
  6. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #6
    512MB of VRAM is plenty. Something else is a problem.
    I'm running two displays, 3360 x 1050 pixels total, on 256MB of VRAM.
     
  7. cheungtsw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #7
    I am running out of ideas.
    I already reset the PRAM and NVRAM.

    One more thing I noticed. I have overscan setting on the u2711 but not the 2007.
    Not sure if it treated the u2711 as a tv.
     
  8. eemzah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    Hi there,

    Don't know if this is of any help but try connecting via the Mini DP. You will need to get the Mini DP to DVI adaptor though. This solved my problems when connecting via the HDMI port on the Mac Mini. All I can say is that HDMI on the Mac sucks big time.

    Hope that helps.
     

Share This Page