2012 all set up - question about TB > HDMI

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mchoffa, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. mchoffa, Dec 17, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012

    mchoffa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #1
    I've got my iMac here finally, set it up and migrating from Time Machine backup.

    Question though: does HDMI typically not turn on until the system boots? As you can see here, I've got a "no signal" message on the third display.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mchoffa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #2
    This may help someone else. After getting everything up and running, the HDMI display still didn't work. I tried unplugging/plugging, restarting, etc. Finally I tried just plugging into the Thunderbolt port on the iMac instead of the TB display and voila, it worked. I hope this is actually a normal bug, and not my TB port not working on the TB display.
     
  3. stopmakingsense, Dec 18, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012

    stopmakingsense macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #3

Share This Page