2012 Mac Pro Will Not Boot With MOTU 424PCIe Card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by buildafriend, Oct 11, 2018.

  1. buildafriend macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a 2012 Mac Pro running High Seirra. When I install the PCIe card the tower will not boot. This card works perfectly in a PC that I have sitting around..

    Help?

    All the best,
     
  2. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #2
    I'm not familiar with that particular card, but just googled it and it appears to be an audio interface. Says it's compatible with the Mac Pro, but I couldn't find anything more specific than that--like what model years of the Mac Pro. Have you tried contacting them to see if they have any guidance?

    About all I can suggest is to try it in every slot (except for Slot 1 which I assume has your video card) to see if maybe you get a different result. You could also try a PRAM reset and see if that helps any.
     
  3. buildafriend thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    #3
    For clarity - even though these PCIe slots are longer than the ones i'm used to seeing, they are still in fact PCIe slots and the card should work. Right? They should take this 64 bit style PCIe card.. I have seen several online tutorials of people installing cards with the same pinout as this in 2012 Mac Pro towers.

    I'll have to contact MOTU tomorrow..
     
  4. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    Yes if the card you have is PCIe then it should fit fine into any of the four slots in your Mac Pro. Whether it's compatible with the 2010 Mac Pro has other variables, so that's why I think contacting the manufacturer to ask would be a good step.
     
  5. buildafriend thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    #5
    I left MOTU a VM.. we'll see if they get back.
     
  6. buildafriend thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    #6
    --- Post Merged, Oct 15, 2018 ---
    SOLVED

    After changing PCIe slots and doing a PRAM reset the audio card works.

    Thank you Bookemdano!
     
  7. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
  8. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #8
    Visit http://www.motunation.com if you ever need more info on MOTU gear or software. Lots of dedicated folk regularly visit the site and can often assist.
     

Share This Page

7 October 11, 2018