2012 MBA users: What kind of battery life do you get?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by coldjeanzzz, Jan 27, 2014.

1. coldjeanzzz macrumors 6502a

I have a late 2012 13 inch MBA

When I bought it the advertised battery life was 7:30 hours I believe.

I think with web browsing, watching youtube videos, listening to music I get about 6 hours. I honestly don't think I ever got 7:30 hours of battery life out of this machine. When I'm on battery I keep the brightness pretty low, usually 50% or lower. I suppose I might get 7 hours if I literally did nothing but browse websites, not watch any video/flash, and maybe some word processing. It kind of bugs me that the 2013 Air basically doubled the battery life, if I had known the difference was going to be that drastic I might have waited.

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

There are many factors that impact your battery life. See the BATTERY LIFE FROM A CHARGE section of the following link for details, including tips on how to maximize your battery life.
    The link below should answer most, if not all, of your battery/charging questions. If you haven't already done so, I highly recommend you take the time to read it.

3. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

I had a 2012 like yours and just normal web browsing and email/RSS feeds I would get around seven hours or better. I rarely watch YouTube vids, so that probably makes a difference.

I updated to the 2013, and like you mentioned, it was a big improvement for battery life. I have used it all day (eight hours or so) and still had 30-40% left.

4. oldtime macrumors regular

5. studIOS5 macrumors 6502a

studIOS5

I get around 6 hours on mine (10 battery cycles)

6. kage207 macrumors 6502a

I get roughly about 7 hours when I was on ML. Now that I'm on Mavericks I get about 9ish with brightness at 8-9tics.