2012 mini questions, found one

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by cornerexit, Nov 2, 2014.

  1. cornerexit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #1
    Found a quad core 4gb model that I'm about to go grab. I can upgrade this guy to 16gigs of ram correct? If so, best place to buy? Same for the SSD.
     
  2. Mcdevidr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    #2
    I though you had actually FOUND a Mac mini. That would be a nice Find.
     
  3. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    Yes my Mac mini has a Crucial M500 SSD and 16GB Crucial RAM. My Windows mini has the OEM 1TB HDD that came with it plug the OEM 1TB HDD than came with the Mac mini.

    The Windows mini (2.3) used to be a Mac/Windows mini. I moved the SSD and the RAM to the new mini (2.6). I was going to use another SSD from my sold Mac Pro as the C: drive in the Windows mini but could not get Windows to install on it.

    Do you get the feeling I love removable RAM and Storage?
     
  4. cornerexit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #4
    I picked up ram and a ssd. Do I need to fire it up first on the OEM hard drive or just go ahead and swap in the ssd first?
     
  5. Chuck Rodent macrumors member

    Chuck Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    #5
    Fire it up on the installed HD to make sure it is not DOA. Then do a clone to the SSD and install the SSD plus memory. This is what I did since I was not transferring over any files or apps onto the new machine.
     
  6. cornerexit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
  7. BJonson macrumors 6502a

    BJonson

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
  8. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    OP:
    Do you have any way to attach the SSD to the Mini externally BEFORE you put it in?

    It's best to "do the prepping" of the new drive before you attempt the surgery.

    Having said that, and assuming you haven't yet done anything, I agree with the post above that recommends that you clone the "fresh contents" of the HDD to the Mini. CCC is the easiest way to do this.

    You'll need to BOOT the new Mini at least once, and create an account.

    I would suggest a "temporary administrative" account (for lack of a better choice, just name it "administrator" and use an easy password).

    Once you're running under this temp account, the very first thing (assuming you're online) is to download CarbonCopyCloner. Then connect the SSD, initialize it, and clone the contents of the HDD to the SSD.

    If you've got the SSD mounted externally, it's also wise to do "a test boot" from it, to assure yourself that it's working as intended before you open things up.
     
  9. cornerexit, Nov 3, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2014

    cornerexit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #9
    I have a Fry's pretty close so I guess this is what I need.

    http://www.frys.com/product/7551366?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

    That and the carbon copy cloner software.

    Sorry guys I found the youtube videos for the physical part, the surgery as it's called just not the prep work. If you know of a full guide I'm all ears. Gonna attempt this after work today.
     
  10. Ics1974 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #11
    Do you mind me asking how much you paid for the mini before upgrades?
     
  11. cornerexit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #12
    2.3 quad core I7, 4gigs ram, 1tb spinner. $749. Beggers can't be choosers so I did what I had to do to get one before they are all MIA. I didn't want a used one either.

    I had purchased a MBPr for $1k more as I needed a new machine but decided to take it back when I found this remaining mini. BBuy has a few left but you'll have to check all stores in your area.

    ----------

    One more question to those who have done this. Is it better to do a fresh install via the boot utility or clone the drive? I ask this because I haven't really put anything on the machine yet and am wondering if a clean, fresh install would be better.
     
  12. cornerexit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #13
    One more question to those who have done this. Is it better to do a fresh install via the boot utility or clone the drive? I ask this because I haven't really put anything on the machine yet and am wondering if a clean, fresh install would be better.

    And do I need a cable to add the ssd to the hdd in it already? I don't know if I should keep the existing drive in there for data storage or toss it in favor of just the ssd!

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  13. cinealta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #14
    Fresh install is always better. Follow the thread on creating a USB flash drive installer in the Yosemite forum.
     
  14. cornerexit thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #15
    Ok thanks.

    The HDD it shipped with is in the "upper" location according to disk utility in the OS. Can I just install the SDD in the lower location, clone it over from the HDD then tell the machine to use the SDD in the lower location to boot from? Then image the HDD and use it for file storage? Would that process work? Or do I need to put the sdd in the HDD location (upper) and put the HDD in the lower bay? Sorry for all the questions just trying to understand.
     

Share This Page