2012 or 2013 model iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by biggiet4jets, Jan 2, 2014.

1. biggiet4jets macrumors member

I am very interested in buying a 27" iMac very very soon, and don't know if I should buy a refurb model from last year or this year. Im trying to save as much money I can because I am a college student so that is also a factor. Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

2. jcr918 macrumors regular

let everyone know what your plans are for the imac Video / photo editing or normal use etc

3. biggiet4jets thread starter macrumors member

I apologize about that!

But I am a college student and basically do all my assignments on my 09 MBP now. I use VMWare to run windows 7 and m computer which has 4gb of ram can barely run so I want something that won't be slow when running VM.

I use pages, keynote, numbers, logic pro, iPhoto and use windows to run programming applications for school like notepad++ etc. I am a business administration student with a minor in information systems.

I am going on my second year of college so will want something that will last until I graduate at least.

4. quagmire macrumors 603

quagmire

5. Mcdevidr macrumors 6502a

I'm a student as well and I went with the i5 3.4 27 inch version with the 775m. It was really a great price 1699. I bought a usb3 dock and a samsung 840 pro ssd and use that as my boot drive and I get 400 read and write speeds on it. And I bought 16 gb ram from crucial and run with 24gb ram. The thing performs great and total cost out of pocket was less than 2000 because I traded 16gb of ram I had for the crucial. Overall not a bad package for the price.

I ran the machine for a week without any of the upgrades and for 1700 it is great. I'll tell you though that i really noticed the speed of using the external ssd so at minimum I would suggest a harddrive upgraded model. They had the i5 3.4 with fusion drive for 1869 on the refurb store.

6. biggiet4jets thread starter macrumors member