Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Roadracer247

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2014
2013 2.6 MBPr vs 2013 1.7 MBA

I basically have my decision down to two different options. Before you ask, the 11" MBA felt too small and the 15" MBPr simply feels too big. I generally do all my computing from a couch or lazyboy. In no particular order:

2013 MBA 13" 1.7 GHz dual-core i7 (turbo boost up to 3.3GHz), 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD.
VS
2013 MBPr 13" 2.6 GHz dual-core i5 (turbo boost up to 3.1GHz), 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD.

Pricing is very close. $1849 MBA vs $1799 MBPr. Both of those prices are before my government discount. Pricing between the two is not a determining factor. I work as a Firefighter for a living, so battery life is important. I wanna be able to sit around at work when we aren't running calls and not have to be plugged into the wall. We work 24 hour shifts, so the longer the better. So that has me leaning towards the MBA with its 12 hours of battery life. But my girlfriend and I also like to travel and we take pictures using a Nikon DSLR camera. So the added benefit of the higher resolution screen could come in useful when viewing and editing photos. I have been told its also much better for movie and tv watching. Is this true? The half pound weight difference makes no difference to me. I suppose lighter is better, but honestly, if nobody told me there was a difference in weight I'm not sure I would be able to tell the MBA is lighter.

So as you can see I have quite the dilemma (first world problems are brutal). What else should I be considering? Which processor is going to give me better performance in day to activities? Do these computer throttle back their processors when their running off battery power? What decisions did you guys make when you were considering your purchases?

Just because, I also have a Retina Ipad and an iPhone 5s.

dylin

macrumors 6502a
Jun 10, 2010