2013 Airport Time Capsule 2 TB - Upgrade drive to 4 TB?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by webstarcool, Jun 13, 2013.

  1. webstarcool macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    SFO
    #1
    According to the recent mini teardown of the 2013 Airport Time Capsule, the device holds a standard 2 TB Seagate drive.

    http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/AirPort+Time+Capsule+A1470+Teardown/15067/1

    The question is whether you can make a DYI upgrade to a 4 TB drive. Previous Time Capsules had an issue with the drive size when swapping the drive to a 4 TB as it wouldn't properly recognize the drive and capacity.

    I also recall that recent iMacs had a harddrive with a modified firmware. Wonder whether the TC drives are actually not-so-standard and have a modded firmware as well.

    Would be interesting to see how things play out with this new APTC.
     
  2. negatv1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    MI
    #2
    Unless there is a hardware size limitation for the device (we know 3TB drives work), then I'd be an off the shelf 4GB drive will work in the AC.
     
  3. sick z33 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #3
    I would like for someone to do this eventually to see. Soon I hope!
     
  4. webstarcool thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    SFO
    #4
    Sweet. My question has already been answered by iFixit. According to them it will easily accept a 4 TB drive.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page