2013 Apple Product for HD Video editing

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Mmdambro, Nov 21, 2013.

1. Mmdambro macrumors newbie

I am pretty new to the apple world but have transitioned over with the iPods, iPhones, and iPads. Now I need to make the desktop transition.

I edit gopro videos and they are typical 1080p 60fps. I have a PC and it is barely up to 5 minutes of editing.

So I am interested in what imac would suit my needs best.

I am considering the 21.5 with the dedicated graphics card and upgrading the ram to 16gb. Total cost will be around 1500-1700. Is this the best configuration for editing these HD videos?

Do you guys store your video on external drives and edit from there?

I

----------

I am also willing to consider more customized approaches or even older macs and upgrading them. Just trying to find a solid machine for HD video editing for years to come

2. TheyCallMeBT macrumors member

Any configuration will work fine for what you do. My 2010 iMac with an i3 processor was still working fine for me. I do video production for a living. I have my own business. I do that, and I teach a hands-on college course for sports broadcasting.

I just got the new model with i7 and the 780m.. 27". My 2010 just took a little longer to render batch lists than I liked, and had a hard time doing After Effects work.

So yeah, any current model will be fine for you. Definitely get the dedicated gfx card. I don't know if they have one with integrated, but do avoid that one, if so. Otherwise, just think about what you will be doing in 3 to 5 years. If you're going to expand into more resource intensive work. If you're going to need to be able to finish projects without waiting for the computer to churn through them. And how long you want your machine to last for you. With my 2010, I couldn't afford to step up in CPU and GFX back when I bought it. It lasted me 3 years. I can definitely see this new one lasting me 5.