2013 Mac Pro Graphics Glitching

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dingobiatch, Mar 2, 2015.

  1. dingobiatch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #1
    I have the new Mac Pro Late 2013, 8-core, with D300 graphics cards. 64GB RAM.
    I've been having lots of UI lag using Logic Pro (Logic always has issues though..), but I've also had crazy graphics glitching. It very much looks like a failing graphics card.
    Thing is, I took the computer into the Genius Bar, they tested it for 2 weeks, said my graphics card wasn't the issue and that it's my memory. I replaced the memory (it's from OWC), and ran MemTest for four days. No errors.
    Graphics glitching still happening though. Could Apple have been wrong about my GPU?
    Here's a video of the glitching: https://www.dropbox.com/s/g3t6h0au4cw6g03/LogicGraphicsArtifacts3.mov?dl=0
     
  2. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #2
    That definitely looks like graphics glitching to me. I've had video cards in PCs do that before, and swapping the GPU always fixed it. The Genius should forfeit his title.
     
  3. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I agree, I think thats a GPU problem and not the ram you installed.

    There is a simple way to find out, just put back the original ram the mac pro shipped with and see if it still does it.
     
  4. macmotive macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    According to some super secret sources, an unusual number of D300-equipped 2013 Mac Pros have been going back to Apple for GPU replacements, so we may be looking at another recall situation at some point in the future. The D500s and D700s appear to be unaffected so far.
     
  5. SuperMatt macrumors 6502

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #5
    I don't think that putting in 3rd party RAM affects the warranty on your machine at all. That being said, if you have the original RAM, put it in - if it's still happening, then take it back to them and tell them. Also consider calling AppleCare - I have more success with that than with the Genius Bar these days due to the stores crowded with people that have "issues" that are truly nothing. Imagine having to deal with PEBCAK issues all day, then having to try and fix a REAL problem. Must be very difficult for the support people at Apple Stores.

    Another alternative - is there an authorized repair shop near you? Sometimes Mac resellers are authorized repairers and are far less busy than the Apple Store tech support folks.
     
  6. dingobiatch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    #6
    There is an authorized repairer nearby actually.

    Hmm... I've read about people having D300 problems.. but the Genius Bar couldn't reproduce the graphics issues. Not sure how to get them to just replace the D300's... and with one's that one do the same damn thing.
     

Share This Page