2013 Mac Pro to iMac Pro...worth it?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dlpro, May 25, 2018.

  1. dlpro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #1
    Hi, I'm running Pro Tools on a 2013 Mac Pro 3.0GHz (8 core / 64GB ram). I'm thinking about updating to the new iMac Pro 3.0GHz (10 core / 64GB ram).

    Question is, how much will I really benefit? Is it worth it?

    Thanks!
     
  2. mreg376 macrumors 65816

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    If your Mac Pro can handle what you throw at it now and its doesn't feel sluggish, then I don't see how the iMac Pro can help you, unless you're drooling at the 5K Retina display.
     
  3. dlpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #3
    Well the MP can handle it, but isn't the iMP more powerful? Also having TB3 for my external enclosures wouldn't be a bad idea.

    I'm wondering if anyone here has compared the two in everyday work, especially using Pro Tools.
     
  4. mreg376 macrumors 65816

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #4
    Yes, the iMac Pro is more powerful. But is it $5,000 more powerful? Will it make a difference for what you use it for? Is TB3 worth $5,000 to you? This is all subjective. Maybe if you find someone to compare the two that would help, but you'd have to find someone comparing the same configurations that you have/would have. No easy answers here.
     
  5. dlpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
  6. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    I upgraded from an 8 core trashcan with two D700s to an iMac pro 10 core Vega 64.

    I use FCPX, compressor, Aperture, handbrake.

    The performance difference depends on the app and what its doing, but in general the iMac Pro does better. I use stabilization effects often and sometime 4K video.

    As mreg376 says, if you are happy with the MacPro, the iMac isn't going to add much to your satisfaction. If your MacPro is struggling, then you will be happier... but the cost value is subjective.

    The my world TB3 vs TB2 difference is in video monitor support. Disks and peripherals perform about the same.

    There are tons of benchmarks about that will give you quantitative data. Based on the benchmarks I was hopping for a noticeable improvement, but in my real world usage of one hour video tops, there is not a whole lot of difference in general. If it takes 2 hours to transcode/export vs 2 hour 15 minutes, its still a long wait. The iMac seems to be less quirky, however. I don't think there is a situation where the iMac is slower.
     
  7. dlpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #7
    I was really hoping for a life changing experience. :) What do you mean by, "the TB3 vs TB2 difference is in video monitor support"?

    I also have an iMac 5K - 4 core which I use as a slave. I use a lot of orchestral VI's and the 4 core just doesn't cut it. My thought was to get the iMac Pro to replace the Mac Pro, and the MP replaces the iMac 5K. I need a lot of juice to power these VI's.

    Is the Vega 56 better than the D500 in the MP? Thanks!
     
  8. ColdCase, May 26, 2018
    Last edited: May 26, 2018

    ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    Basically 5k monitors can be driven over one TB3/DP port, instead of needing two TB2 ports.
     
  9. Fishrrman, May 26, 2018
    Last edited: May 26, 2018

    Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #9
    I don't believe your existing thunderbolt2 drives are going to be any faster after you plug them into a thunderbolt3 port.

    That said, I agree with others here.
    If ProTools is running well for you right now, the "upgrade" doesn't make sense.
    Wait for the -real- "Mac Pro" debut sometime next year.
     
  10. dlpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #10
    Thanks ColdCase!
    --- Post Merged, May 26, 2018 ---
    What about if I had TB3 enclosures? Would the drives be any faster then? Thanks!
     
  11. mreg376 macrumors 65816

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #11
    TB-3 drives are screeching, but super expensive.
     
  12. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 68000

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #12
    In a word no. The enclosures will not change the speed of the drives.

    The MP is a big powerful machine and you will not gain very much at all with the iMP.
     
  13. dlpro, May 26, 2018
    Last edited: May 26, 2018

    dlpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #13
    I've never heard of TB-3 drives before. I did a Google search but couldn't find anything. What are you referring to? Thanks!
     
  14. mreg376 macrumors 65816

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #14
    Screen Shot 2018-05-26 at 10.51.30 PM.png
     
  15. dlpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #15
    Thanks. That looks pretty amazing.

    I had a chance to try an iMac Pro (3.0GHz, 10 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56). Everyone was right. I saw a 5% CPU boost, that's all. I was really expecting 20-25% boost compared to my 2013 Mac Pro (3.0GHz, 8 Core, 64GB, D500).

    I did notice a boost in the screen redraw. Editing clip files in Pro Tools was faster, Launching and quoting programs was quicker. Is that due to the Vega 56 graphics card? Thanks!
     
  16. mreg376 macrumors 65816

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #16
    Quite possibly. But can't you upgrade the graphics on your Mac Pro?
     
  17. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #17
    Internal SSD will be faster, much less latency. Lots of folks look at the raw "up to" data rates, but its latency that matters with video editing. Just saying that you can get very close with TB2 raids of SSDs too. Its not a noticeable real world difference in performance except for perhaps some specialized applications. But you can certainly sink a lotta bucks in SSD storage, however. :)

    BTW I use both TB2 and TB3 storage boxes and notice no difference. The storage media itself can have a significant look and feel difference, however.
     
  18. dlpro, May 27, 2018
    Last edited: May 27, 2018

    dlpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #18
    I can upgrade to the D700, but I don't think that would make a huge difference. Also from what I understand, you can't use an external GPU via TB2. Something to do with limitation, but there is some sore of hack to bypass this.
    --- Post Merged, May 27, 2018 ---
    The SSD speeds on the iMac Pro were twice as fast. Using the Blackmagic Disk Speed Test, the Write read close to 3000MB/s and the Read, 2500MB/s. Is MP is half that. How did Apple get the SSD in the iMP to perform so quickly?

    Are there certain app's that slow down a computer and is there a way to get a 2013 MP to perform better overall? Thanks!
     
  19. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #19
    The dual internal iMac Pro SSDs are not the standard SATA SSDs... Unlike a standard SSD, which has the controller logic onboard, these raw flash modules made by apple only have an interface buffer—the PCIe/NVMe controller lies elsewhere. These storage modules sit directly on a PCI bus, not hanging off a SATA controller.

    This is similar to the Mac Pro and at least some Laptops.
     
  20. dlpro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #20
    ColdCase, thank you for the explanation. I have (8) SSD 2.5 drives in 2 Akitio TB2 enclosures. The drives all read/write between 400-500 MB/s. Anyone with a TB3 computer, aside from the ThunderBlade, is there anything on the market that can up the speed on the (8) SSD 2.5 drives? Again, thanks!
     
  21. Royksöpp macrumors 6502a

    Royksöpp

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    #21
    Wait until WWDC then make a decision. New computers are rumored to debut.
     
  22. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Just received one of these (4TB).
    Cant wait to try it out! Will be used as an editing drive with FCPX.....
     
  23. mreg376 macrumors 65816

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #23
    Actually there are zero rumors about a redesigned iMac. Only wishful thinking on this board.
     
  24. BayouTiger macrumors 6502

    BayouTiger

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #24
    My old TB1 Pegasus with 6 spinners is faster than that on either the nMP or the new base model iMP via the adapter. I moved from my old trash can to the iMP and have not looked back. I can't say that the raw power is that great as I rarely push either of them, but everything is so much smoother and the 4K external behaves better overall. I would not go back
     
  25. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #25
    OWC also makes the thunderbay 4 which they claim is 35% faster than the previous TB2 models.
    • Up to 1527MB/s sustained performance
    • Works with 3.5" or 2.5" drives – no adapter needed
    • User configurable in RAID 0, 1 , 4, 5 & 1+0
     

Share This Page