2013 MacBook Pro / 2017 MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Stussi, Jun 9, 2017.

1. Stussi macrumors newbie

Hello,

i currently own a 2013 15" MacBook Pro (Late 2013, Retina, 2,3Ghz i7, GT 750M) and am overall quite happy with the machine.
    As i am a photographer i do a lot of image editing (Capture One, only RAW files). My current MacBook is just fast enough, it has some little lags here and there but nothing that disturbs me. I use an external 27" Monitor at home to edit my photos.
    When i'm not closing the lid of the MacBook (so it has to drive 2 Displays), Capture One runs quite a bit slower it seems. (Capture One really loves OpenCL power, so the GPU is stressed quite a bit).
    It also gets pretty hot and the fans are spinning a lot. That starts to disturb me quite a bit!

Long story short: I'm looking to upgrade my MacBook. (probably the 15" 2,9GHz, Radeon 560 config)

I read the new redesigned MacBooks run cooler / the fans don't start spinning that fast. Is that true?

I also compared some Benchmarks, CPU wise its a little boost, though i couldn't find some graphic Benchmarks yet.. I think the Radeon 560 will be quite a bit faster than my current 750M.. Open CL wise.

Looking for some infos on the "little things" like how the fans are spinning and if they feel faster from those, who switched to the 2016 or 2017 MacBook.

Thanks in advance! :)

2. BuCkDoG macrumors 6502