2013 MacBook Pro Retina 13" Will not boot and stays on black screen

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ericeric1010, Feb 3, 2016.

1. ericeric1010 macrumors newbie

ericeric1010

My mac has been working perfectly for the past 3 years. I opened it up after waking up and nothing happens, the screen is illuminated (I can see the apple logo on the back glowing) but is unresponsive. I tried resetting it and doing a pram reset but nothing will work. When I plugged in an external display I was able to boot it into safe mode and got to my desktop. Connected to the monitor the Mac will not boot unless in safe mode? Any ideas? I am a university student and rely on my computer for everything. Thanks in advance!

2. LiveM macrumors 6502a

LiveM

Can't you also do a boot from the cloud? Hold down M or something.

3. JohnDS macrumors 65816

MacBook Pros from 2011 to 2013 had video card problems and Apple has an extended warranty for that problem. See:

https://www.apple.com/ca/support/macbookpro-videoissues/

Use your Mac's serial number to see if your Mac is entitled to a free repair.

Also, if you bought AppleCare when you got your computer, it is still under warranty and I would suggest you make an appointment with the genius bar in your local Apple Store and take the computer in.

4. ericeric1010 thread starter macrumors newbie

ericeric1010

The computer is a 2013 Macbook Pro 13inch, It is not covered under this free repair. I do not have apple care and the warranty has expired.

5. JohnDS macrumors 65816

6. ericeric1010 thread starter macrumors newbie

ericeric1010

After running the diognostic test I got the following results
    1. There may be an issue with the display. Reference code: VFD002
    2. A 45W power adapter is connected, this system requries a 60W power adaptor to charge properly
    3. The battery requires service

Any ideas? I could only get the diagnostic screen to open on the monitor. Unable to get it on the MacBook display