2013 MP + Photoshop = Not seeing external drive as scratch disk

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AppleDroid, Dec 20, 2014.

  1. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    Ran into my first head scratcher (get it?) trying to use my new RAID5 OWC Thunderbay as a scratch disk for Photoshop because PS doesn't see it as a choice.

    So I hooked up a USB3 RAID0 drive set and same thing nothing shows up as a choice for PS scratch. So I connected an ancient USB2 drive and it showed up instantly. Naturally this won't work because I'm trying to access the 500MBs speeds of my Thunderbay!

    So question is have you run into this? Is it just OWC RAID drives or an issue using any USB3/Thunderbolt devices?
     
  2. EdDuPlessis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #2
    How much RAM have you got? (My next question might be obvious now)
     
  3. AppleDroid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    Well I feel silly now because someone else asked the same thing and when I said 32GB I was informed I will never have to worry about it. I've been using Ps for so long I always figured out my scratch after a new install but that was when 1gb of ram was high end.
     
  4. JulianBoolean macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #4
    This thread is old news, but I just had a similar issue, where the fix was to choose "ignore ownership" on the drive/s.
     

Share This Page