2014 mac air running windows no joy on serial port

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by gpherbert, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. gpherbert macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #1
    I recently purchased my first mac. It's a 2014 13" mac air 4 gig of 128 storage drive. I've installed Windows 7 ultimate and I'm unable to use the serial port for downloading info from a race car tach. The program says there's a port error. HELP!

    Gpherbert
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Serial port? MBPs have no serial port. Are you using the USB?
     
  3. gpherbert thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #3
    Yes sorry, I'm using a USB to serial adapter cable. The driver loads fine in windows and shows everything is ok in device manager. But when I attempt to use it, no joy.......

    Thx.
    Gregg
     
  4. snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #4
    Windows 7 in a VM or booting natively?

    COM port set in software to match COM port number in device manager?

    Baud rate etc set in software to match settings in device manager? and if so tried lower baud rate (e.g. 9k6 or 19k2 rather than 57k6)
     
  5. gpherbert thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #5

    Hey ok , sorry for not explaining more. I've installed windows7 onto its own partition. I'm not sure what VM or booting natively means.

    When I boot, I have to hold down the alt key then select windows.........

    The usb to serial adapter software says everything is fine. And is assigned to COM1. The tachometer software is also assigned to COM1.

    When I tell the tach software to start the d/l I get a port error.

    thanks for any help....

    Gregg
     
  6. gpherbert thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    #6
    Well this site just oozes knowledge........i just walked outside plugged everything in and the tach just d/l'd the run. I went to get the error msg but it worked so I'm not arguing. Awesome!

    Next problem, no sound. HELP!
     
  7. snorkelman, Nov 3, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014

    snorkelman macrumors 6502a

    snorkelman

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #7
    edit just saw you got it sorted :) ignore the attachment was part of my original reply and cant seem to get rid of it now lol

    sound issue is most likely down to missing drivers (unless you've got the volume muted somewhere)
    I think the 'bootcamp support drivers' should include the audio drivers you need?
     

Share This Page