2015 27" iMac Fusion Failure

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Oldmanmac, Dec 13, 2018.

  1. Oldmanmac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    #1
    When I turn my iMac on, it doesn't start. The chime chimes, but nothing else. So, I start with an external drive. The internal drive shows on the desktop, but doesn't on 'Startup Disk'.
    I think it is dying. With 45 days of AC+ left now is the time.

    Should they(Apple) replaces the drive, how many chances are there that I could pay a difference and get a SSDF instead?

    AND are there TB3 cables? What seperates them from TB2?
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    You have AppleCare?
    Then... what are you waiting for?
    Make a genius bar appt. TODAY.
    Get "what you paid for".

    But...I believe the following is true:

    If there is an internal drive failure
    and
    if you take it to Apple
    then
    ... they will only "repair" it to the same configuration that you brought it in with.

    But again, since you have AppleCare -- take it in right away!
     
  3. mikehalloran macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #3
    None.
    Exactly!

    There's always the chance that it is something else, too.
     
  4. Oldmanmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    #4
    I *AM* taking it on Mon(17th, don't want to be without it all weekend).

    I figured they'd only take it back to stock. The internal HD(fusion) icon shows on the desktop, but not a startup option.
     
  5. Oldmanmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    #5
    **UPDATE**

    Took & pickers up from the Apple Store. All they did was reformat and put a OS(Mojave) on it. I couldn't migrate my stuff back, I couldn't reformat it & CCC it back either. Calling AC+.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    "All they did was reformat and put a OS(Mojave) on it. I couldn't migrate my stuff back, I couldn't reformat it & CCC it back either."

    You have a CCC cloned backup?
    And you can't mount it?
    Please explain in detail what went wrong.

    If you have a cloned backup, and if you can mount the drive on the desktop, you CAN "get your stuff back".
    But... you have to know what to do.
     
  7. mikehalloran macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #7
    That is to be expected.

    Those who constantly beat the cloning drum don't understand that there are very good reasons why Apple has never recommended it and never will.
    From where?

    Migration Assistant can pull from a Time Machine backup or any other drive. It will not restore an older OS. Just ask it to pull your settings, apps and documents. If you've redone your settings, have it pull over just your apps and documents.

    You caused this problem because you didn't know what you were doing. Use the correct tools. Get Apple Support on the phone with you if you're having problems restoring your apps and documents. Cloning will not work here but pulling from a clone will.
    --- Post Merged, Dec 21, 2018 ---
    Exactly.
     
  8. CoastalOR, Dec 21, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2018

    CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #8
  9. mikehalloran macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #9
    Ain't the same. Restore creates a true duplicate.

    So-called cloning software is a disingenuous use of the word. CCC, SuperDuper! et all do not actually clone a disk—ever—they can't. it's in the fine print that they don't. You must reinstall the OS to create a Repair Partition, for example. There are other differences.

    I use CCC for specific tasks. Used correctly, it's a time saver. The way most use it, it's a time waster and can cause problems.

    I'm not blaming cloning for the problems in the OP. Mere misuse of CCC couldn't have caused this. Attempting to partition a Fusion drive that would have shipped with HS or Mojave without having a clue is what did it. Thinking that CCC can help restore is just a symptom of the problem.

    The Apple tools are the correct ones to use here. In this case, it's Migration Assistant providing he can get a TimeMachine backup or clone to mount. The files need to be pulled into the Mac, not pushed from another volume.

    My work here is done.
     

Share This Page

8 December 13, 2018