2015 BrandNEW MBP Stuck on FileValut Setup

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dextor143, Nov 21, 2015.

  1. Dextor143, Nov 21, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2015

    Dextor143 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I just purchased a brand new MPr and while setting up, a screen came about FileVault so I just clicked next and it has been spinning for over 30 mins.

    Is that normal? I have been reading that people have restarted computer and unchecked it and it still kept on spinning.

    can you please help?

    Thanks

    update: while waiting for someone to reply, it moved forwarded and completed the setup.

    Thanks
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Encrypting the volume can take some time. I don't remember how long my rMBP took, but it wasn't immediate.
     
  3. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    One more thing, I bought this brand new and it's showing the model as A1398 but it shows as mid 2014.
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Where did you buy it?
     
  5. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    I got it off of Craigslist but it was sealed and the lady said she bought in July 2015. It came with Yosemite
     
  6. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    The 2015 model was released in May. It's entirely possible she bought old stock and it's a 2014 model. I guess that's the risk you take buying on Craigslist.
     
  7. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    It's ok, Caz I paid $1100 for a brand new sealed box.
     
  8. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8

    Now I just downloaded El Capitan...While updating, I go the file vault encrypted paused. My power cable is plugged in, but it still ask for it to be plugged. I have taken it in and out several times but it won't moved from the paused status?

    Is this normal?
     
  9. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA

Share This Page