2015 MacBook Pro overheating - options?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rockymtnsadmac, Mar 22, 2015.

1. rockymtnsadmac macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I purchased a 2015 13 inch MBP about a week ago. On day 1, I attempted to play a couple of simple steam games (goat simulator, robocraft), and the laptop became very hot within 2 minutes of playing, fans roaring. The display glitched, and the laptop restarted. This has happened every time I've attempted to play a game. I called Apple support, and they walked me through a few resets--no luck. The rep suggested that I buy more RAM and install it.. my understanding is that the RAM is soldered, and these games are not taxing.

I ran diagnostics, and it returned error code PPF003 - there may be an issue with the fan. I made an appointment at the nearest Apple store (1.5 hours away). I am new to Apple computers and was wondering: should I return the computer to BestBuy where I purchased it? I Would really prefer to not deal with them. Best Buy is about the same distance from me. Also, would Apple likely replace the laptop, or service it? I Would hate to be without a computer for a few days as I need it for work, and it is difficult to work a road trip into my schedule.

My last concern: should I be worried about any long term damage from the overheating this week? My fear is that they fix the laptop, and I run into issues in the future due to the prior overheating. I cannot afford $250 on top of this purchase for Apple Care+. Thank you very much for any assistance, it is greatly appreciated. I'm sorry if this has been answered elsewhere, but I couldn't find a similar situation with a 2015 MBP.

2. tylerwatt12 macrumors regular

Mac's aren't really meant to play games. But it seems there is a severe issue with your notebook.

Are you playing these on bootcamp or OS X?