2015 MacBook Windows 10 bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rc0310, Aug 4, 2015.

  1. rc0310 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    #1
    Anyone successfully upgraded from Win 8.1 Pro to Windows 10 on their 12" Macbook via Bootcamp?

    I've tried everything, and nothing is working.

    Please share your experience and help if you can in this thread.. thank you
     
  2. GixxerPilot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    #2
    Yes but I had to download the ISO from Microsoft copy it to a usb flash drive and install it that way. The update thing from within windows 8.1 never worked for me. Windows 10 runs really well on the MacBook I can highly recommend it.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. yogeewan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    #3
    how did you manage to register it? I tried the same, but i was stuck with a non-activated copy. Is there a method to activate it without the upgrade?


     
  4. rc0310 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    #4
    Are you running Windows 10 Home or Pro?

    I tried doing a Windows 10 Pro clean install off USB stick and it asked me for windows 10 product key.. Which I don't have since I was upgrading from Windows 8.1 Pro..
     
  5. holesinhead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    #5
    You need to first install it over 7/8/8.1 as an upgrade. Then log in with your MS account so that their servers register the upgrade. Ensure Windows 10 shows as activated in your system. Then do a clean reinstall if you like. Skip through the screens where it asks for the product code. Once it has installed and you log in with your MS account, it will automatically get activated.
     
  6. spiffy05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #6
    What hard drive size did you have on the rMB? How much space did you configure for Windows 10?

    I realize these are often based on personal circumstances, but I'm curious nevertheless.

    Thanks!
     
  7. macenied macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #7
    Windows 10 Pro takes up to 20GB, OS only, clean install. I have read ( cannot recall where ) that you can compress something when you install, I don't use that. I'd say 50GB minimum, if you don't install huge applications. Better 80GB. I use 300GB for Windows and 150GB for OSX.
     
  8. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #8
    The compression is automatic but MS do not specify the conditions in which it occurs.

    I upgraded 7 to 10 and Windows was compressed to 3.8 GB. I then did a clean install and it wasn't (so 19.8GB). I then did an in place upgrade of 10 and again it was compressed (so back to 3.8 GB again).

    I think the compression only happens if the upgrade decides you have insufficient space on your SSD. It never happens if you have a HDD.

    I've not seen any performance issues using the compressed version and for bootcamp users with limited SSD space (like me) it is far better.
     
  9. macenied macrumors 6502a

    macenied

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #9
    Thank you for the explanation, highly appreciated ! :)
     
  10. spiffy05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #10
    Have you tried using Fusion or Parallels to access the bootcamp partition? If so, what has performance been like?

    Thanks again!
     
  11. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #11
    Nope. I used Fusion for testing 10 preview and it was terribly slow. I don't use Parallels as they make you upgrade (and pay) far to often. I do have Virtualbox which sees the bootcamp partition as a raw disk but normally I just boot Windows as I prefer it to Yosemite.

    I boot windows and my wife boots OSX. Each to their own I guess. She prefers the email in OSX whereas I prefer to be able to run Project.
     
  12. spiffy05 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #12
    That's my key. I need to run Project for work and have been debating between the rMB and MBP where I could use it simultaneously. Hearing that Fusion was terribly slow is a bit of a bummer, but good to know.

    Anyway, thanks for the feedback!
     
  13. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #13
    Fusion isn't really terrible. If you only want to run Project it is OK. I just boot up in Windows as I prefer it and there is nothing in OSX I miss.

    My father uses parallels 9 and it is not compatible with Windows 10 (or El Capitan). To upgrade all his Macs to version 10 is a bit expensive.

    Probably I prefer Fusion to Parallels but I'd not pay for either to be honest - I'm happy with bootcamp.
     

Share This Page