2015 MBP 15" + dGPU: My experience

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Zakzilla, Jun 5, 2015.

1. Zakzilla macrumors member

Zakzilla

For all of the negativity the new 2015 15" MBP gets on here, I've gotta say I'm thoroughly impressed. I've been using this new machine for 2 weeks now, and it absolutely flies. I upgraded from a 2010 so the leap is significant. I edit video for a living (and occasional vector work), and this is quite honestly one of the most capable machines I've ever used.

A couple thoughts:
    + The dGPU (AMD R9 370x) is impressive. I can run my games smoothly on medium to high at 40-60fps (Cities Skylines, Counter Strike: GO). Video editing is faster than my desktop. With 16GB of RAM, After Effects is snappy, and Final Cut Pro X feels incredible (thanks OpenCL). When the dGPU is active, the OS X Yosemite UI is buttery smooth with it. Mission Control, Spaces, etc are beautiful, even with 6-8 fullscreen apps.

+ The sound is amazing, and far better than my 2010. I've actually been impressed with how powerful the sound is. I use my computer as a stereo around the house now. I also checked out Boom 2, a neat system-wide equalizer (they have a free trial too) and was impressed with that.

+ This screen. Such beauty. Much wow. And no retention issues whatsoever. "Impressive" sums it up for me. I changed my scaling to the 1680x1050 option and have a nice combo of workspace and near-retina DPI. It's a great combo if you like to see more on the screen

+ Force Touch trackpad is excellent, it was a bit different from traditional, but I was using both my 2010 and this 2015 side-by-side to transfer files, and by the end of the day I strongly preferred the Force Touch. It just feels faster and more refined. You can also change the setting to 'firm' to make it feel more like the traditional trackpad.