2015 MBP Does Not Wake

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by IPadNParadise, Oct 3, 2017.

1. IPadNParadise macrumors 6502

IPadNParadise

I have a 2015 MBP bought refurbished from Apple in Dec 2015. No issues until a few weeks ago and one day raised the lid and nothing happened. Waited a few minutes, turned it off and back on and it came on and worked fine. So at first this was just a sometimes thing, now however it is every time I try to use it (raising lid does not wake from sleep). I don’t use the MBP often, maybe once a week. I’m a heavy iPad Pro user. I have updated the MBP to High Sierra but the issue started before the update. I also have 1T storage with 944gb left. I’m an older user of technology but not a good fixer of issues. Any help with a possible fix would be greatly appreciated or is my MBP slowly dying?

2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

3. Fishrrman macrumors P6

Fishrrman

OP wrote:
    "I don’t use the MBP often, maybe once a week. I’m a heavy iPad Pro user."

In that case, DON'T "put the MacBook to sleep".
    Just shut it down.

Boot it when you need to use it, then shut it back down when you're done.
    Battery should last longer that way, too.

4. IPadNParadise thread starter macrumors 6502

IPadNParadise

Thanks much, makes sense, I have always just closed the lid. I guess because I used to use it more often. I also took Samuel’s advice and reset SMC.

5. Nixir macrumors member

Had the same issue with my 13inch, resetting SMC/NVRM didn't help. Had to downgrade to El Capitan and it's been smooth sailing ever since.

6. IPadNParadise thread starter macrumors 6502

IPadNParadise

Yeah, resetting SMC/NVRAM didn’t help mine either. I am now shutting it down after using it, which evidently I should have been doing ever since I began using my iPad much more than the MBP. I am not interested in downgrading the software. Any more/other issues with it, it goes to the Apple Store. I put that off as long as I can since it is 100 miles away.