Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

matthewh133

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2016
Has anyone used both of these machines and able to compare the two? I'm a pro photographer and do a lot of photography/video work on the road in Photoshop, Lightroom, Premiere etc... though I would love the ability to play current gen games. This has me considering the Razer over the Macbook Pro, but I've always been told the Macbook Pro is a better screen and specs for photographers. All this said, the photography aspect for me is more important than gaming. Just trying to find the most powerful machine for my needs.

Anyone else with similar usage needs able to chime in?

Rafterman

Contributor
Apr 23, 2010
Both systems would equally handle the tasks, though the lack of a built in SD card reader on the Mac Pro means an adapter is required.

In the end, I think that comparing hardware with a Mac is pointless. It all comes down to the OS. If you like Windows better, get a Windows machine (plus there is a lot more variety, where specs become an issue), but if you like MacOS better, get a Mac, which is really your only option, unless you go hackintosh.

So, the real question is, do you like Windows or MacOS better?

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013
Honestly mate just go into some shops and try them out!! People on here can give you their biased views and their experiences but what you like and need will be different!!
You may find the touch screen a real bonus and not like the touchbar or the other way round, you may find the 4K screen more useful or the retina p3 colour gamut better for your work, you may find the NVIDIA GPU a bonus in 4K video editing and gaming, but prefer the longer battery life's the AMD gives you on the road!! Just a few things to consider!!

shadow82x

macrumors 6502
Jul 11, 2012
New Jersey