2016 MacBood hardware issue with USB-C port

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by happyslayer, May 1, 2016.

  1. happyslayer macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #1
    Hey All,

    I had the 2015 MacBook (1.2/512) but sold it to a relative and got a new 2016 rMB m7/256. I just discovered a strange issue. The new one will not read my combo USB sticks. I have a Kingston 64GB USB-C on one side and USB-A on the other as well as two Patriot 32GB sticks with USB-C on one side and USB-A on the other. The old rMB reads them just fine (I still have access to it as I am setting it up for my wife's cousin) but the new one cannot access them through USB-C. At least nothing happens when I plug them in--not seen with Disk Utility either. However, my Anker USB-C to 3 port USB-A hub with Ethernet works just fine and will read all three sticks if I plug them in using the USB-A side through the adapter. (Which defeats the point of having bought the more expensive combo sticks in the first place.)

    Can anybody else with a new 2016 rMB test this if you have a combo stick? I may have to make a genius bar appointment but I would love to know if this just an issue with me or all 2016 rMB's.
     
  2. Idarzoid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #2
    Tried restarting with these combo-sticks plugged in? Some USB-C hubs have issues working with USB drives unless the machine is restarted with the hub connected, could be related to this.
     
  3. happyslayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #3
    I have tried rebooting with all three of the sticks. No luck on the new 2016. Works fine with no issues on the old 2015. I am going to post the question on the Apple Support Discussions as well. I found others with sort--but not quite--the same problems.
     
  4. Picapau21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    #4
    Have you checked Kingstons website. I previously had to update my usb sticks' firmware for el capital. Still very strange why they aren't work though.
     
  5. ks987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #5
    I have the 2015 MB and I run into a similar issue, I use this between machines and once I plug in the USB-C side into my MB and transfer whatever files and eject the USB (then use it on some other machine), if I want to transfer more files or whatever and re-plug in the USB-C into my MB, it does not read it. The only solution I've found, which works every time, is to reboot my MB, which is very annoying.

    Anyone have any issues with using something like the combo USB, and what is the solution (minus restarting)?!
     
  6. happyslayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #6
    On my 2016 doesn't work even restarting. Only thru my USB-C adapter using the USB-A side of the stick. On the 2015, they work fine through USB-C, no reboots necessary
     
  7. happyslayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #7
    So an update: Contacted kingston. No firmware updates. And tried a Sony USB-C/USB-A stick still no dice. Also tried an SMC reset and a PRAM reset. No change. I guess I'll make a Genius bar appointment and while there see if any of the demo 2016 MacBooks can read them.
     
  8. Brookzy macrumors 68040

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Screw the Genius appointment, try it on the demo machines and if it works return your MacBook and buy another! :)
     
  9. TofSanity macrumors 6502a

    TofSanity

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #9
    I have the SanDisk comb that Apple sells and it doesn't have any issues
     
  10. happyslayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #10
    Yeah, but that will be a pain since it was a BTO model--m7/256. I think it has to be returned through Apple online and then I'd need to wait for another. Which I may have to do anyway if the Genius's decide it's bad. I can't imagine the hardware would be somehow repairable. But maybe. And to the above poster, I haven't tried the SanDisk model, but may stop by Frys and snag one, just to see. I'd honestly be happy if I had just one functional stick that could be used both USB-C and A for when I need to download a driver or a virus checking tool to use on a customer's PC when it can't get internet access (and without needing to use the dongle.) Especially since the 2015 works great with all three brands I have - Patriot, Kingston and Sony.
     
  11. KPOM, May 4, 2016
    Last edited: May 4, 2016

    KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #11
    Are you running the El Capitan Public Beta (10.11.5)? If so, I have noticed a similar issue and I have the same model (m7/256), and coincidentally updated from the 1.2/512 as well. When I revert to the stock version (10.11.4) it works. In 10.11.5, most USB flash drives and an Inatech USB-A hub/Ethernet port don't register. I have reported the issue to Apple through the Feedback Assistant and sent them some diagnostic files.

    The only way to revert to the version of OS X it shipped with is to use Recovery Mode. Make sure you have a wi-fi connection. Reboot and hold down CMD-R. When the menu pops up, click on "Reinstall OS X" and follow the prompts. The bad news is that it takes some time to download OS X. The good news is that you don't lose your data.
     
  12. Picapau21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    #12
    Your case highlights the issues with running beta software. I previously lost use of my encrypted USB's when using the el capitan beta last year. Was so annoyed. Had to wait 6 months for a fix to become available and one of the USB's still doesn't work.
     
  13. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #13
    That's why they are called betas and come with the disclaimers.
     
  14. Picapau21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    #14
    Completely Agree.
     
  15. yashz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    This is what happened to my M5. This one Seagate external hd wasn't recognized at all when directly plugged in to the apple digital AV adapter. I tried it on a MacBook Pro and also a windows pc and it works. iPhone plugged in to the AV adapter works, just not the Seagate drive. If I use a small regular usb hub (unpowered) plug in to the AV adapter, then the Seagate drive to the usb hub, then MacBook would recognize the Seagate drive. I reverted back to non beta and the Seagate drive shows up no problem now with the apple adapter. So weird...
     
  16. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #16
    Did you submit feedback to Apple? They came back and asked me for a diagnostic file from 10.11.4 showing that it works. Hopefully the more feedback they get the easier it will be for them to figure out what was going on. Originally I thought I might have fried the USB port (as I used Migration Assistant overnight to transfer files from my 2015 MacBook), so I took it to the Genius Bar. They ran a bunch of tests, and on a hunch tried mounting a drive through Recovery Mode, which registered, and led him to believe it was a beta issue rather than a hardware issue.
     
  17. yashz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    No I didn't. I wasn't sure if beta is the cause of the problem when I revert back to non beta. I reverted back because I had a genius appointment the next day and from past experience at least with my iPhone they usually ask why I have beta and want me to try revert back to non beta first. So I did it the night before and end up fixing the problem and cancelled the appointment.

    I'll try to submit the feedback to Apple when I install beta later on and if the same problem exists.
     
  18. happyslayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #18
    I can sort of agree with the latest posts to this thread and the latest bit of info about the dev build. However, I first used the MacBook out of the box with the stock OS X it came with last week for about 3 hours. It did not work with my USB-C/USB-A sticks. So, I figured that since I was running the developer build on the 2015 rMB, I would try that. I registered it with the dev site and downloaded the App Store dev seed and proceeded to update it. That did not work either--hence this original post. I then did all the SMC and NVRAM/PRAM resets. No dice. Called Apple. No luck.

    Went to the Genius Bar this morning and they tried all that as well. No dice. They were ready to take it back and sell me another one--though it would not have been an m7 since they don't sell that in store. Then, the tech said, "lets try something." He connected it to the $80.00 USB-C/HDMI/USB-A adapter and then plugged in to the Apple Store network server using USB-Ethernet. He then proceeded to wipe my MacBook and re-install using a build from the Apple Store servers. He specifically rebooted twice, chose one version, changed his mind and then chose a different one and said "Yeah, this one might work." It then took the better part of an hour to do the re-install. When it came up, the first thing it did was ask to apply a USB-C adapter update and reboot. It then did that two more times, two more USB-C updates and reboots. (three USB-C updates total.) I never saw anything like that before with this laptop. It might have just been something to do with the $80.00 adapter (since I didn't own one) but I'm not sure. He then did the App Store OS/iTunes updates and rebooted a final time. After all that, my USB-C port now recognizes my combo sticks. Yay.

    He then told me that my backup was probably bad. Well that would suck bad since it would take hours to re-install my stuff. So I risked it. I have since gotten it all restored from my Time Machine backup and all is still working. Again, yay. So, maybe beta/developer build issues. (And I realize this is part of using beta dev software but it worked on the 2015 and it didn't work out of the box) Or maybe not? Like I said, until today, those sticks have never worked with this new MacBook, dev or no dev version.

    Regardless, Ill hold off on playing with any new dev builds until 10.12 this summer I suppose. Also, I'll post my issues on the dev site.

    Thanks for all the replies and help.
     
  19. KPOM, May 5, 2016
    Last edited: May 5, 2016

    KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #19
    I got the "apply the USB-C" update during one of my reversions to 10.11.4, specifically when I plugged in the USB-C/VGA/USB-A adapter. In my case when I originally set up the MacBook, I migrated my documents and settings from my 2015 MacBook in Target Disk Mode using a USB-C 3.1 Gen 1 data cable. I manually copied over most of the applications that I wanted, but then called it a night. The next morning I noticed the issue with the USB port. Apparently what happened was that since I had the Beta profile on the 2015, it had downloaded the beta along with the Bluetooth update. So when it restarted it installed both. What I wound up having to do was install the Beta Profile from Apple's website, reboot, manually uncheck the "download beta" option (as it wasn't showing up before), then reinstall 10.11.4 from the recovery partition. That worked, except the "download" for the beta was still there, so I had to be careful and select only the Bluetooth update. After the reboot the beta download seemed to disappear and I'm still on 10.11.4. I'll try again with the next build since it seems that Apple is now aware of the issue.

    I'm guessing it's an issue with USB 3.0 power delivery mode. Someone mentioned an iPhone connected. That has its own power supply and connects in USB 2.0 mode. So does an old 16GB flash drive I have that does mount in the beta. What didn't work are any peripherals that connect in USB 3.0 mode, such as my newer "high speed" flash drive, SSD, and USB 3.0/Gigabit Ethernet Hub. I rarely use any of them and was tempted just to leave the beta, but decided to revert to 10.11.4 for now.
     
  20. yashz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #20
    Maybe that's why when I use a usb 2.0 small hub on the av adapter then plug in my usb 3 hard drive and thumb drive it works and recognize the drive. But using usb 3 drives directly it wouldn't recognize the drives.
     
  21. happyslayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #21
    That sounds right. As my Anker USB-C to 3-port USB-A hub with ethernet only ever transferred at USB 2.0 speeds. So that's probably why those combo sticks worked when plugged in through it. I'll bet the beta build breaks the USB 3.0 for some reason. As you said, maybe voltage or something. For now, I will wait until the next WWDC OS X 10.12 release to start playing again. Honestly, I only have my dev account so I can get up to snuff on the new OS X version features and settings before I have to support them in the field with my customers. These latest dev builds really haven't added anything too substantial. I can wait... and use my USB-C/A combo sticks :D
     
  22. happyslayer thread starter macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #22
    An update: The latest 10.11.5 released yesterday fixed it all. So definitely do the update.
     
  23. yashz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #23
    Update: I'm having the exact same issue again with 10.11.6. It was fixed with 10.11.5. Now my external drives are all having the same problem as before. :(
     
  24. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #24
    My guess is that the first beta of 10.11.6 is derived from an earlier version of 10.11.5. I'm sure it will be fixed for the final release.
     
  25. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #25
    I dont think people on beta OS should come here and report issues. Report them to Apple. You are testing for Apple. While people here will try and help, seems like a waste of a thread to me.

     

Share This Page