2016 MBP 15 - 512GB or 1TB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gryffin, Dec 20, 2016.

  1. gryffin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    #1
    Hello all:

    I am switching from a Windows laptop to a Mac.

    I am struggling to decide whether to keep the off-the-shelf model that I purchased (still within its return period) or to order one with a 1TB HD.

    The Windows laptop I am switching from had a 512TB HD that is not completely full- it's got about 1/2 its capacity free.

    I intend to use it to edit GoPro video- but for short clips mostly- under 5-10 min of video at a time- for fun- not for work.

    I may need to upgrade to Final Cut Pro at some point if the color correction in iMovies is not sufficeint for my needs (I'm shooting video underwater). I've installed Microsoft Office for work compatibility. I'm not sure what other programs I will need at this point.

    Any thoughts on whether it is worth the $400 to get the upgrade, or whether relying on cheaper external storage is sufficient?


    Thanks-
     
  2. JohnnyGo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #2
    External storage.

    NAS if you plan to keep multiple copies / backup or external SSD if you plan to keep just your recent Gopro files
     
  3. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #3
    Assuming you are going to keep the nrMBP for two to five years try and ask yourself based of previous use how much storage you will need in the future.
    Parallels is something you may consider in the future if you need Windows, loaded with files and programs a .pvm file can easily reach 100GB
     
  4. Rafterman macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
  5. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #5
    I wanted it but settled for 1tb
     
  6. UnluckyXIII macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    #6
    I originally was going to go for the 512GB, but after considering adding Windows in Bootcamp I decided to go for the 1TB, it gives the additional flexibility without having to worry about storage going forward.
     
  7. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #7
    Does Bootcamp 6.1 support Windows 7?
    OP may want W7 I know it doesn't support XP - this is why I use Parallels plus I like the icon in the dock etc - all OS on one machine.
     
  8. UnluckyXIII macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    #8
    Good question, I'd be looking to run W10 and just assumed it would work (I hope so as I've already bought it haha!) but I'm unsure about W7, I'm sure someone here will know or even a quick google should bring up the answer.

    I've never used Parallels, although the idea of having both within the same OS sounds appealing I'd expect it to be rather resource heavy.
     
  9. deany, Dec 20, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016

    deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #9
    Hi
    No problem with W10 in Bootcamp 6.1
    Parallels is a subscription based business model but to have any OS back to W95 and before plus Linux its incredibly flexible.
    This makes one heck of a machine.
    One thing I recommend if you do go the Parallels route is to switch off TM backup in Parallels and back up each .pvm to a folder on your backup drive called say Parallels.

    Otherwise the mac is continuously backing up small changes to the .pvm file

    I have XP.pvm W7.pvm W10.pvm on 2015 13" 8GB RAM and 500GB hard drive (option to upgrade to 1TB in the future)
    All good.
    Cheers
    nb
    Parallels on a rMBP does not give the same experience - there is slight lag esp. W10 so you wouldn't want it for everyday use. (i5 8GB)
    We use W7 all day on an i7 16GB iMac and its 100% perfect.
    I think Parallels offer a one month trial.
     
  10. jerryk macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #10
    Parallels is a pretty flawless experience. Run whatever version of Windows or Linux you want. And you can run the OS in a window, or let it take over an entire screen. It does run slower than a native Windows or Linux machine, but not that much.
     
  11. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #11
    Can I what Mac and spec you use and is it W7 or W10 I find W10 slightly slower on W10 in Parallels than W7
     
  12. jerryk macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #12
    I am running a 2015 15" rMBP with dGPU. Windows 10 only now, but have run Windows 7 before. I did not notice much difference in performance.
     
  13. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #13
    Thanks for your reply.
    I think you have a more powerful machine - I have the 13" 2015 rMBP with i5 8GB and 500GB
    I dont think I have dGPU on mine, not totally sure.
     
  14. iBrooker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Location:
    Wales
    #14
    512

    Get a monitor that acts as a hub and connect a drive to that for all your 'big files' - drives will come down in price over the years, especially by the time you need the extra space.

    Look what he does here - sticks it to the back of the monitor :D

     
  15. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #15
    Nice setup but how much is that monitor?
    I snagged a new Samsung 4k for £270 from amazon and its awseome with my 2015 rMBP
     
  16. iBrooker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Location:
    Wales
    #16
    About £499 :)

    What model is that Samsung? Does it have an IPS display? I guess it can't act as a hub?

    The nice thing about these LG monitors is that we just need to plug one cable in :D (for the 2016 MBPs anyway)
     
  17. deany, Dec 20, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016

    deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #17
    Hi
    Mine was £279.99 PRIME not from the seller in Germany https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00WUACDIU/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1 I bought it a few weeks back - I was tracking it on camelcamelcamel for a while.
    With this cable https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00YOQYQWY/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1 its plug and play with magsafe!
    Apple bluetooth keyboard from work (new unused) and Logitec bluetooth mouse.
    Very happy.
    I'm pretty sure it doesn't have the LG capabilities so nice work around by the youtube video poster.
    I'm happy with the price and quality of the Samsung 24" 4K though - quality is amazing fills the whole screen and 5 min setup.
    Its not IPS, "it has PLS is Samsung's take on the popular IPS technology, meaning you get brilliant viewing angles. I can happily say this is true - the image does not lose colour balance when you view it from the side."
    Cheers
     
  18. verendus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    #18
    Go with 512Gb and put the money towards an external SSD like Samsung T3 and set up a NAS storage. For video and photo project, you will need a way to back up fast and keep multiple copies. You will also benefit having a separate work disk for photos and videos rather than keeping everything on your OS disk. 512GB is more than enough for all your OS and software files.

    Having a separate external SSD makes copying and backing up files so much easier too.
     
  19. gryffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    #20
    I had purchased the off-the-shelf model from Best Buy and today, they were able to pricematch the latest offer from bhphoto- so the 2.7/455/512 model cost me $2599- making it a $600 upgrade to switch to the 1TB bto.
     
  20. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #21
    If you are in doubt then get the 1 TB.
     
  21. deany macrumors 68030

    deany

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    North Wales
    #22
    $600 is a lot, but if you keep the mac for 5 years say, you have piece of mind not to worry about lack of storage.

    I'd phone your home insurance company and add it if neccessary and check accidental damage cover etc these Macs are like buying a car nowadays!
     

Share This Page