2016 MBP nTB vs 2015 rMBP ports etc.?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Shaunthesheep, Apr 6, 2017.

?

From what I've described, what should I get?

1. 2015 retina MacBook Pro 13" base model

2 vote(s)
    33.3%
  2. 2016 MacBook Pro nTB 13" base model

4 vote(s)
    66.7%
  1. Shaunthesheep macrumors newbie

Hello,

I'm thinking of purchasing a new MBP 13 inch, not because I'm a pro user but I want the performance and the ports offered. I'm a college student in mechanical engineering and we don't really use any heavy programs. I'll mostly use it for office programs, web browsing and perhaps some really light gaming.

The main reason I'm leaning towards the rMBP is mainly the keyboard and the price. However, I have a real hard time deciding what I should get.

The thing that concerns me the most is the worry of that it isnt going to last me 4-5 years which I want it to. Could Apple drop the support for it in 4 years etc?

Also, say, 3 years from now when the world has adapted to USB-C somewhat more. If I would like to connect a USB-C device to my rMBP, would I be able to do so via a Thunderbolt 2 - USB-C or a USB-A - USB-C adapter? I get that the transferspeeds etc will be limited, but could I perhaps connect a screen? Also, are there any Thunderbolt 2 male - Thunderbolt 3 female adapters, is it when possible?
    For me, that answer to that question could be a dealbreaker.

So what do you guys think? Can I get a rMBP 13 inch 2,7 ghz(probably base model) and feel good about it and not be worried?

Sorry for a somewhat messy post, but I would really like to know what you guys think!

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member