2017 iMac internal microphone very low

Discussion in 'iMac' started by NervousFish2, Aug 5, 2018.

  1. NervousFish2 macrumors regular

    NervousFish2

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #1
    Hey all,

    Recently reinstalled my OS. Now, suddenly, my internal microphone on my 2017 27" iMac is very low. If I record something, I can't hear myself except faintly. The mic is working, or at least a bit, it seems, as if I tap the bottom of the casing (which is where I belie the mic is located), I can audibly hear it. But it is very low. So low that Siri can't hear me, for example. Now, I went into system settings and turned the volume on the mic all the way up. But no luck. So I think perhaps the mic is faulty? Is there any way to test the settings, or reset them? The computer was recently opened and a new SSD was installed. I'm worried it may have knocked the mic out of place or something.

    Nick
     
  2. Guy Clark Suspended

    Guy Clark

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    London United Kingdom.
    #2
    You can alter volume and microphone settings in macOS system preferences
    https://mediacommons.psu.edu/2017/04/04/setting-mic-levels-on-the-mac/
     
  3. NervousFish2 thread starter macrumors regular

    NervousFish2

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #3
    Yes, I know. As mentioned, I did max out the mic volume in system settings. No joy. Incidentally, my Blue Yeti mic is working fine. But the internal mic isn't picking up my voice very well, unless I get right up into the bottom of the machine.
     
  4. J.Gallardo macrumors regular

    J.Gallardo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #4
    “Audio MIDI Setup” app (into “Utilities” folder) is worth a look. You can check all in/out sound routes and tweak some settings.
    (This app should be named “Audio & MIDI Setup”...)
     
  5. NervousFish2 thread starter macrumors regular

    NervousFish2

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #5
    Brilliant. Will look into this when I get home.
     
  6. J.Gallardo macrumors regular

    J.Gallardo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #6
    If it’s a software issue, “eliminating” added dispositives (your yeti mic...) and reverting all to starting status (in Sound MIDI Setup) has helped me twice.
    You can add your mics... dac (my case) ... ,or whatever, after this “reset”.
    (Good luck)
     
  7. NervousFish2 thread starter macrumors regular

    NervousFish2

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #7
    I share your view that it is a software issue, but I am not quite sure what you mean by eliminating dispositives. Exactly how to I revert to starting status?
     
  8. J.Gallardo, Aug 11, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2018

    J.Gallardo macrumors regular

    J.Gallardo

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Location:
    Spain
    #8
    When you attach a mic, a dac... it will appear listed in the app. Even when config. appears to be automatic (and it is; that’s why this app is ignored by many) “audio MIDI Setup” shows mac’s “memory” about once plugged in/out dispositives.
    My DAC (a DragonFly Red) worked just after plugging. But some installation or upgrading made things work oddly in my mac. I fixed it making my mac “to forget” my dac & start over again.
    “Audio MIDI setup” isn’t very kind & intuitive...
    http://www.macobserver.com/tmo/article/audio-midi-setup-your-macs-secret-sound-manager
    Note the typical list with “+” and “-“ at the bottom. Watch every device and its status. Like in “printers” list (& others), strange behaviors can be fixed (sometimes) eliminating devices and starting from zero...
     
  9. NervousFish2 thread starter macrumors regular

    NervousFish2

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #9
    OK, I actually wiped the computer and set it up as new, without the Yeti being attached. The mic is still malfunctioning. At this point, I suspect it is a hardware issue and not a software issue. Thanks for your help tho!
     
  10. toru173 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    #10
    From memory, the mic is between the display and the aluminium enclosure, about 8 inches (20cm) from the right. It should by just to the right of the Apple logo (https://support.apple.com/en-au/HT204392#2017). Do you have any tape, post-its, labels etc on the front of the Mac that could be covering it?

    When you installed the SSD, did you cover the small hole in the frame that the mic listens through? The 2017 uses a specific type of adhesive tape that has a cutout for it. Using a 2015 model's tape will cover it up!
     
  11. NervousFish2 thread starter macrumors regular

    NervousFish2

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #11
    I did not myself install the SSD. An Apple certified technician did it. But he seems to have forgotten your very important point! I'll be taking it to the shop this week, I think!

    (No tape or post its!)

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page