2017 MBP 15 4k Editing Storage

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Boe11, Jun 28, 2017.

1. Boe11 macrumors 6502a

Hi there,

As long as I can remember, it's always been the cardinal rule to editing video footage from an external (or at least separate) drive from the one your operating system and software is stored on.

1. With the ridiculous speed and ample storage options of modern SSDs, is that still the case?

• 1a. If I have a 3 minute editing project that's 400gb and I have a 2tb internal ssd with plenty of headroom, is there any foreseeable problem with that?
    • 1b. If the performance is optimal and I do this on a weekly basis, will I encounter issues of SSD degradation at a significantly faster rate?
    2. Assuming the above isn't feasible or advisable, What are the best options for portable and not-so-portable external drives these days?

• The exposition section. I'm a video producer in a new role in which I'll be traveling to various company locations, filming short form videos for social/youtube, and deploying them with a relatively short turn around.
    • I'll be doing most of my editing at the home base but occasionally editing in the field.
    • I'll be editing in FCP X and supplementing with After Effects.
    I sincerely appreciate any info you might be able to provide. I'll be ordering my post-production equipment in the next few days.

2. MSastre macrumors regular

MSastre

You probably will be OK for short projects, but would still have to archive your media and projects to another drive and delete from your internal, or you will fill up fast. OWC has some external SSDs that work very well for editing on the road. You can also get a dock for transfering everything to another drive. FWIW, I always keep my media files on an external drive.

3. Boe11 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thanks, MSastre. I'll take a look at some of the external SSD options.

4. ColdCase macrumors 68030