2018 Mac Mini with DVI monitor issues...

Loddonlily

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 20, 2018
UK
Hi - newbie here, taking my first steps in the world of MacOs with a new Mac Mini. Have been reading with some anxiety about the various monitor issues that people have been having and am concerned that it might not be fit for purpose... which would be odd, as I don't think my requirements are demanding.

I have an i3 Mac Mini with 8GB/256GB. I want to connect it to a 24" 1920x1200 monitor with HDMI - this is working fine. But I also want to connect it to a second monitor, 1280x1024, with DVI, and this is not working for me. I've now tried two different USB-C to DVI-D cables - one of them specifically claiming compatibility with the 2018 Mini. Neither work with the DVI connection to the smaller monitor, though they do work with the DVI port on the 24". Sadly the smaller monitor doesn't have an HDMI port so I can't just swap. And, yes, I can use the DVI on the smaller monitor on another machine (Windows) where it works fine.

When I say "not working" - it's ok at the login screen stage but as soon as the boot process progresses to where it sets the resolution accurately, I get crazy flashing on the screen. The image is there, the size I expect, but flashing multiple times a second.

Anyone have any suggestions, or do I need to return this?

Loddonlily

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 20, 2018
UK
Update in case anyone is following this... I've spent some time today on to Apple support (chat and phone). The official answer is (1) the machine supports 1280x1024 (2) they don't think mine is broken and (3) after that I'm on my own. Alleged problem/deficiency with monitor and/or cable. Bear in mind that monitor works fine with a windows PC and I've tried two different cables. Suggests hidden compatibility issues.

Lesson: make no assumptions about what is or is not going to work with this thing...

tthkbw

macrumors newbie
Jan 13, 2009
Portland, OR