2018 MBP Touch Bar problem

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Billy Shears, Oct 9, 2018.

  1. Billy Shears macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    #1
    So, this may or may not be a problem, but I've noticed that sometimes Touch Bar requires 2 clicks to select something, for example brightness: if I haven't used Touch Bar in a while and then press on brightness, it may or may not turn on the slider for brightness, but instead just show the animation that it's selected and that's it. Sometimes touching the brightness or volume icon on Touch Bar will decrease or increase brightness or volume without going to the slider. Also, sometimes fn key doesn't work immediately to show function keys, but you have to press it twice. I should note that this doesn't happen regularly, it happens randomly sometimes.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  2. Billy Shears thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    #2
    Anyone? All I'm asking is is it normal for Touch Bar to sometimes be unresponsive, like sometimes you have to press it 2 times instead of 1.
     
  3. SDColorado macrumors 68020

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #3
    I can't say that I can recall ever having that issue and I am sure if it was a fairly common occurrence for me, I would. My recommendation would be, that if you have any reservations about how it is operating, then return it for a new one and see if that behavior continues.

    I am sure some factors such as hands being wet, etc. can sometimes cause this to happen, but that should be a very rare occurrence
     
  4. Billy Shears thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    #4
    It's not that common, but it usually happens after not touching it for a few minutes. On a possibly related note, do you experience any clicks when you hold your MacBook Pro? Any kind of noise at all?
     
  5. SDColorado macrumors 68020

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #5
    Not on my current one, but I *think* I know what you are talking about. Does it come from the bottom case? Almost like a screw is maybe not tight, but if you check them they are? I had that issue with a previous model. When you pick it up in some ways it would make a little "click," but there was nothing that I could do to tighten it.

    I lived with that because it was only mildly annoying and didn't want to take the chance of exchanging an otherwise perfect machine. But since you are also having trackpad issues, if I were you I would swap it out.
     
  6. Billy Shears thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    #6
    Yes, from the bottom case! I would gladly swap it, but I live in country where there's no official Apple Store. I bought it through 3rd party shop. Am I still able to swap it? Maybe if I buy AppleCare?
     
  7. SDColorado macrumors 68020

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #7
    You would have to see what the return policy of that particular shop is. If they are an authorized Apple reseller, they may have the ability to do an exchange. I think even shops that don't offer a return policy, still offer an exchange for a defective unit?

    The other option would be to call Apple directly and work with them. They can often facilitate an exchange either by shipping directly to you or by "partnering" with a reseller.

    However, if you are outside your 14-day return window, then it would have to be done through Apple as a warranty claim.
     
  8. Billy Shears thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    #8
  9. buran-energia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    #9
    If the touch bar's display is turned on, I don't need to click twice, so not normal. Neither is that noise.
     
  10. SDColorado macrumors 68020

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #10
    That noise isn’t what it should be, nor is the issue you are having with the Touch Bar. I would get in touch with Apple and explore your options for an exchange
     
  11. iMacDragon macrumors 68000

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    tap-sliding finger briefly to left or right on either of the brightness or volumes adjusts them quickly by a single notch without brigning up full slider
     
  12. Billy Shears thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    #12
    I talked to the Apple Support via chat and they said that there shouldn't be a problem replacing the unit. They said that I just bring the device to the store where I bought it and they will assist me with the replacement. I have a transcript of the chat on my mail. Do Apple Authorised Service Providers need to comply to what Apple Support said, or can they refuse to do so?
     
  13. SDColorado macrumors 68020

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #13
    They can refuse. B&H Photo is a good example, where their policy states “Defective items may be repaired, exchanged or refunded at our discretion for the same model or manufacturer's equivalent model” and the won’t accept returns on unwrapped computers.

    What you will need to do is check the policies of the shop where you bought it and talk with them about the problem and what Apple has told you.

    If for some reason they don’t exchange it, I would call Apple back and let them know and see what they will do on your behalf.

    Since is clearly has at least one easily reproducible defect, they should not be difficult about it. For what they cost, I doubt anyone in the store would want to live with those issues either, if it was theirs.
     

Share This Page