2019 iMac 27" Refuses to run Netflix in 4K

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iPhone4Life1, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. iPhone4Life1 macrumors newbie

    iPhone4Life1

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Location:
    Hopefully traveling!
    #1
    Last night I installed Windows 10 1903 via Bootcamp with all the updates and latest Apple drivers but whatever I do, Netflix will not play in 4K...

    The Edge browser just instantly gives me an error every time I try to play anything, 4K or not, and the Netflix app from the Windows store only shows "HD" regardless of resolution I'm running at.

    It seems every other person posting about this has no issues running Netflix in 4K on the iMac as long as they are within Windows... any idea?
     
  2. Ruggy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    #2
    Hmm. Are you running an AV under windows? It can mess with Netflix and give an error message so you could try turning that off and see. Similarly, firewall.
    Do you still need silverlight? It used to be that you'd get error messages if silverlight was out of date or not enabled, but I don't know if that's still true or true with 4K but maybe?
    Otherwise, sometimes a cookie can be corrupted so you could clear history but you probably have tried that.
    I'd disable all browser extensions too.
    Check time, date and country settings. But you'd probably still log into the home page Netflix if it's that it's just the videos would give an error message.
    Otherwise, it must be a codec problem. Odd it doesn't play at 4K in the app though as that should have all the right codecs.
    Digital rights issue? Used to be that you needed to pay for media centre or something under Windows to enable the digital rights. No idea if that's still true under Win10 but it might be something along those lines. Digital rights is a big issue with 4K and as I understand it, it's where a lot of problems come from.
    Just ideas sorry, no solutions hope something helps.
     
  3. Ruggy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    #3
    One last after thought. Excuse me for asking but you have made sure to take the premium Netflix subscription? They don't all run the 4K just the most expensive one.
     
  4. mikehalloran macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #4
    It's the Silverlight browser plugin, not the old Microsoft AV plug for desktop apps.

    That's never made clear and does confuse people.
     

Share This Page

3 July 17, 2019