2019 iMac recognized memory with 2400 MHZ

Discussion in 'iMac' started by amirali.saeedi, Mar 28, 2019.

  1. amirali.saeedi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    #1
    Hi Folks,

    I just got my new 2019 iMac received and setup. I got the base 8 GB RAM option and upgraded myself with Corsair Vengeance Performance Memory Kit 32GB DDR4 2666MHz. Upon first boot, I have noticed an issue. My iMac has recognized 40 GB of RAM. But the speed is shown 2400 MHz, instead of 2666 MHz. Additionally, the About window is missing the "Memory" Tab. Anybody knows what's wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. gilby101 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Tasmania
    #2
    I noticed this. Have to look in System Information.
     
  3. amirali.saeedi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    #3
    I tried removing the Corsair RAM and the base 8 Gig jumped to 2666. I did some research and it seems there might be a latency mismatch here. The Corsair RAM is CL18, but the base one are CL19. Now I have ordered Crucial, which appears to be CL19 also. Hopefully, that resolves the issue for me.
     
  4. macduke macrumors G4

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #4
    Yeah I ordered the Crucial and have 40GB running at 2667 in System Report.
     
  5. Crylex macrumors newbie

    Crylex

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Location:
    Philippines
    #5
    Can you guys post a link of the Crucial 32GB that you bought? Dont want to order a wrong one. Thank you!
     
  6. kaintxu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    #6
    Is it regular crucial by micron, or ballistix by micron you are using?
     
  7. amirali.saeedi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
  8. macduke macrumors G4

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #8
  9. adamjackson macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #9
    Should I return my RAM? I bought what was linked above. Want to get the full speed.
     
  10. jonatious macrumors member

    jonatious

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    #10
  11. amirali.saeedi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    #11
    I would not say non popular since my 2019 iMac was preloaded with 8 Gb of likely the same RAM from Hynix :p I would still go with Crucial since people have seen consistent results. I tried the Corsair one first, but it is reducing the speed to 2400 instead of 2667. Hence returning it.
     
  12. mjy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    #12
    I'd like to know if I can add 2 sticks of 2400 MHz to my new I mac without hurting it. I can't afford to buy the 2667 MHz at this time. Someone gave me their 2400 out of their older I mac.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 11, 2019 ---
    I'd like to know if I can add 2 sticks of 2400 MHz to my new I mac without hurting it. I can't afford to buy the 2667 MHz at this time. Someone gave me their 2400 out of their older I mac.
     
  13. marzfreerider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    It won't hurt it, they will just make all your RAM do 2400 MHz
     
  14. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #14
    Seems to me that although you might be able to use software to "measure the difference" between 2667 and 2400mhz, that difference in speed will be UNperceivable to the user "in the real world".

    If someone "gave me" 2400mhz RAM, I'd leave it in there and run it that way for the life of the Mac, with a big smile !! ;)
     

Share This Page

13 March 28, 2019