2019 MacBook Pro trackpad issue?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nameste, Jun 11, 2019.

  1. nameste macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #1
    Hello, I get my MacBook Pro 15” today and I realized the trackpad sometimes doesn’t want to click .Is this normal?
     
  2. idark77 macrumors 6502

    idark77

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    #2
    You should insert more details and for sure it is not normal.
    Have you this issue in any specific zone of trackpad? Or anywhere?
     
  3. nameste thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #3
    its mainly happens on the right button side but also rarely happens on the right side

    Here is another
     
  4. idark77 macrumors 6502

    idark77

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    #4
    In the extreme edge I suppose that It's normal...
     
  5. nameste thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #5
    if you have the latest design can you test with yours?
     
  6. donawalt macrumors 6502

    donawalt

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    #6
    I have the 2019 MacBook Pro and I tried to follow your example, pressing exactly where you did in the video, and I get distinct haptic feedback every time, sorry. I can't think of any settings that would cause this either.
     
  7. nameste thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #7
    excuse my English is not my native language ,you mean sometimes it doesn't click for you too ?
     
  8. donawalt macrumors 6502

    donawalt

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    #8
    No,it clicks every time. I meant explain the click is really haptic feedback, sorry for the confusion.
     
  9. nameste thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #9
    I think I am the unluckiest MacBook Pro buyer :/
     
  10. idark77 macrumors 6502

    idark77

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
  11. LogicalApex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    #11
    The same thing happens to my 2018 and I am sure this is normal. Remember the trackpad isn't really a "click" and is a magnetic response to generate what feels like a click. I'm sure the in ability to click in certain extreme areas is where some portion of the mechanism is and Apple deemed it not a major problem due to the sheer size of the trackpad.

    It likely has something to do with the screw standoffs.

    https://d3nevzfk7ii3be.cloudfront.net/igi/OQQj1jjkml1fTtcc.huge
    Source: https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/MacBook+Pro+15-Inch+Touch+Bar+2018+Trackpad+Replacement/121427
     
  12. nameste thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #12
    I tried to power on the MacBook from the same right side and it does click after 4-5 tries.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 11, 2019 ---
    Do you also have 2019?
     
  13. LogicalApex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    #13
    Yeah I am sure all of them have it as the trackpad needs some reinforcement and stability. It isn't an issue IMHO since the trackpad is large enough.
     
  14. appleuser181 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    I'm not sure whether that's normal or not but I just tried the same thing on my 2018 MBP trackpad and the same thing happens for me as well. When I click more than a few times in a row on either the left or right edges, the trackpad gets blocked for a second or two just like your videos.
     
  15. nameste thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #15
    Now that’s Question :) do you guys also have the 15’?
     
  16. appleuser181 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    Yea I have the 15 inch model as well
     
  17. nameste, Jun 11, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019

    nameste thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #17
    I see ,lets wait for an answer from experts
    you might be correct I hope to get more answers from other owners
    btw i find this video


    starts from 1:18
     
  18. idark77 macrumors 6502

    idark77

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    #18
    I think that in the edge it could be normal. So don't care about this.
     
  19. nameste thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    #19
    Will i find out it’s a design for palm rejection so I guess nothing to worry
     
  20. appleuser181 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    Yea, palm rejection would make sense I guess
     
  21. macintoshmac macrumors 68030

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #21
    I fancy that it needs a basic minimum contact area to understand a finger touch. All else will probably be rejected as palm or unwanted touch.When I had my 2016 MBP, I realised that it needed a certain amount of contact area to engage haptic and recognise the click. Unless you are getting this in a sizeable area, you are just fine.

    However, your videos show that you are well within the clickable area and this should not happen.

    Please understand that there may be software glitches versus a real hardware issue. Let's not be so quick to blame everything on hardware.
     
  22. appleuser181 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    Fair enough, but how can we determine whether it's a software glitch or a real hardware issue?
     
  23. macintoshmac macrumors 68030

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #23
    Have you upgraded/ updated macOS at all? If not, try updating and see if that resolves. If you have updated already, try going to a lower version if possible and see what goes. If not, take it to the store and have them check.

    Let me put forward a case of my MBA 2017.

    macOS 10.14.1 did one thing. Whenever there is a download going on in Safari, if I plug or unplug my charging cable the download would pause.

    I tried 10.14.2 beta and no luck.

    I downgraded to 10.13.6 to check, and it worked fine there.

    I was very sure I was sold a notebook with a dying network card since I bought my notebook used. Had I not went back a whole version prior, I would have blamed it on hardware. Sometimes, things happen. It was my diagnostic skills and trial and error that resolved it for me. Now I know that there can be really pesky bugs that make one feel it is the hardware.

    You can try doing the same if you want. :)
     

Share This Page

22 June 11, 2019