2033 Redux will it run on my MP ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by FilthyMcNasty, Jan 21, 2016.

  1. FilthyMcNasty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    #1
    2008 Early MP, Gigabyte 750ti Black Edition, 4GB RAM, latest Nvidea web drivers installed

    I've already read people are doing OK on 4GB

    But wondering if the rest of the system will give me a playable framerate which to me is 25fps and I would accept running 720p with some lower settings

    For anyone interested 2033/Last Light Redux are on offer £3.74 each at bundle stars for 24 hours
     
  2. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #2
    You should be fine with some settings turned down.
     
  3. Flint Ironstag, Jan 21, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2016

    Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #3
    For £3.74 each, why not be a pioneer and let us know how it goes?
     
  4. FilthyMcNasty thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    #4
    Pioneer or guinea pig? :)

    Well, I guess so..

    Perhaps few with similar configurations have played that game. :)

    OK, I'm going in...
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
  6. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #6
  7. JoSch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    #7
    I played both Metro Redux on Windows with all settings highest. I would presume, that even on OSX, you should be able to play the game with most settings high.
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    The gaming performance usually much worse in OSX, even though no tessellation available on OSX, the FPS may be still 30% lower than in Windows. If intentionally disable some effects in Windows to make it have the same setting as in OSX, the FPS may be double in Windows. Of course, it depends on the games optimisation. I only try few games in OSX, but so far, none of them have match performance as the Wondows version.
     
  9. FilthyMcNasty thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    #9
    Well I got 2033 Redux, and on 10.10.5 it's just playable at 720p with high detail. The fps is probably 15-25 (haven't figured the console yet) but I've only spent a few minutes on it so haven't tweaked anything yet.

    I'll play it through though, even if stuck at this framerate.

    I've got a legal copy of W8.1 to install sometime, so presumably can get better performance, but now that my card doesn't have a boot screen I've yet to explore the best ways of doing that...
     
  10. cw48494 macrumors regular

    cw48494

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #10
    In my experience/opinion, games are best played at your native resolution with settings turned lower.
     
  11. thornslack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #11
    I would second the recommendation to play under Windows. It makes a huge difference. Not only do your fps go way up, but DX 11 renders effects that often get skipped entirely in OS X ports. Additionally you can output digital audio from your card. If you have your old GPU or can borrow one it's worth your while to get Windows set up. Once everything is in place you can put your 750 back in and use bootchamp to switch OSs without the aid of boot screens. Plus you get a free upgrade to win 10 if you want it, though I am not familiar with that OS and its potential hazards on a 3,1
     
  12. JoSch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    #12
    No hazards. Updated from Win7 to Win10 and it's running smoothly on my 3,1.
     
  13. FilthyMcNasty thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    #13
    Sorry didn't see notifications of replies....

    Very excited by this idea !! :)

    That was my one concern. I'm not sure how to switch OS without a boot screen ??

    I see Target Disk Mode in Settings. If I choose a Windows hard disk am I not stuck there?

    Also, if I may ask- is bootcamp under 10.10.5 straightforward for installing windows 8?? I seem to recall it's problematic

    TIA
     
  14. JoSch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    #14
    I recommend BootChamp for that. It sets up the Mac for a one time boot of Windows.
    Only drawback is, when Windows reboots for updates etc., you have to boot into OSX again, and then use BootChamp again.
    The other way is to use the Startup disk control panel in OSX and Windows. But you always have to remember to switch the OS.
     
  15. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    The BootChamp developer says it is incompatible with SIP in El Capitan. Although you can disable SIP to make it work, he says development has ended and so there won't be any more updates.
     
  16. JoSch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    #16
    Then Startup Disk it is.
     

Share This Page