Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hexed666

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 6, 2009
Hi everybody,

I am new to Mac, I always had PC's, but yesterday a friend gave me a 20th anniversary Mac, he said it's old and haven't been used for ages.
Well, I pulled it out of the box and thought this is a Cool Piece of Computer, plugged it in, but coudn't find the" On botton". I did some research on the net and watched a couple of Video's on YouTube, first I was very suprised that this is some kind of fancy Mac, certainly looks good, keeping in mind the age, this was for sure way ahead of his time.

Long story short, the "Start botton" on the right side top corner of the keyboard does not start the computer, to start him, I have to unplug the keyboard and reconnect it. After this is done, it appears to me that the thing is running fine, sound, video, tv, radio, touchpad, all the keys from the keyboard, everything works great besides starting the machine.

One more thing, the Bios battery is bad, I had no change yet of getting a new one, could this be the reason ?

Any help is highly appreciate,

Tx

Mike:D

What could this be

madog

macrumors 65816
Nov 25, 2004
Korova Milkbar
Shiesse!

Did you know that the TAM cost nearly $9,000 when it first came out? Those things were pretty badass in my opinion, though I never would have sprung for one.

Kind of the first iMac design. Built in TV/FM tuner, Bose sound system complete with additional sub woofer, and not to mention it was one of the few (if only?) desktop Macs to have s-video built in! Also, it was black!

That thing was state of the art a decade ago :p, but I still think it's damn good looking still.