21.5" iMac Which One?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ScottNWDW, Apr 5, 2014.

1. ScottNWDW macrumors 65816

ScottNWDW

Within the next week or two I am planning on getting a new iMac. I have been using a 13" MacBook Pro for the past 3 years and now want to "upgrade" to a desktop Mac since the MacBook Pro is primarily being used as one since the iPad.

If you were buying a new iMac would you get the one that is priced at $1299 with the Intel Iris graphics and the 2.7ghz quad core i5 or would you spend the extra $200 and get the one that has the NVIDiA GeForce graphics card and the 2.9ghz quad core i5?

I am not a huge gamer, but I do enjoy a few games here and there like Roller Coaster Tycoon and Sim City, maybe a solitaire game once in awhile. Both Sim City and Roller Coaster Tycoon have run OK on my 2011 MacBook Pro although seemed a little slow. I really only play games on a computer maybe about 5% of the time so gaming isn't the main use of the computer for me. Aside from that I use the Mac primarily for general everyday stuff using apps like Numbers, Pages, (and for work...Excel, Word), BusyCal, OmniFocus, DayOne. Quicken, One Note, iPhoto, Aperature, Safari, Evernote.

Since the iMac does not have a disc drive, I may be interested in a SuperDrive and possibly the Magic Trackpad, so either way I plan on spending at least $1499.

The 21.5" size seems the right size over the 27" size so if you were getting a new Mac would you get the one at $1299 and get the Super Drive and Trackpad at the same time, or the one at $1499 and get the accessories at a later date.

2. Apple fanboy macrumors Penryn

Apple fanboy

Are you planning on getting Applecare? If you do and buy all the accessories at the same time, they will all be covered. Also you might want to consider a RAM upgrade as it is not user friendly to upgrade on the 21".

3. GovtLawyer macrumors 6502

Get a Refurb