Resolved 21 or 1600 Restore

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jrwd10, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. jrwd10, Dec 27, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011

    jrwd10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #1
    I have a 16gb iPhone 4 with 5.01 tethered jailbroken... I have tried to restore in recovery mode- and i get error 21, and I have tried to restore in DFU mode, and I get error 1600. I want to do a clean restore as my phone is useless right now. Please help!
    ~JD
     
  2. Holmes093 macrumors 6502

    Holmes093

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #2
    Try This:

    - Launch iTunes.
    - Put Phone Into DFU Mode.
    - Wait For iTunes to recognise the phone in recovery mode.
    - Download & Launch iReb r4.
    - Select your device and wait for a few seconds until you get white or a red - screen on your iOS device.
    - Go Back into iTunes and restore.
     
  3. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #3
    I can't recommend you doing this but this is what I did to successfully restore, I removed the line "gs.apple.com" in my host file that was redirecting to cydia and rebooted my computer and it worked like a charm.
     
  4. jrwd10 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #4
    Mac

    I have a mac... do you have any other solutions??
     
  5. Holmes093 macrumors 6502

    Holmes093

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #5
    You Could Try This:

    - Open Redsn0w,
    - Press Extras,
    - Press Pwned DFU,
    - Then follow the instructions,
    - Open Up iTunes,
    - Then try Restoring.

    Good Luck!
     
  6. poose22 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #6
    this! you may have 127.0.0.1 gs.apple.com and 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com at the bottom of your hosts file, which you would need to put a # before both for you to be able to restore. i had this problem today and fixed it by this

    to edit your hosts file: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7556
    if you're running Lion, you can download a program called "Gas Mask" that will let you edit it. I had to use this program on Lion as the instructions in the above link didn't let me save it properly
     
  7. jrwd10 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #7
    That worked! Thank you so much - MacRumors is the best!
    ~JD
     
  8. drenline macrumors 6502a

    drenline

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    #8
    Yup, my windows 7 laptop was not letting me "Run as Administrator" for some odd reason, so I hopped on my other PC which was using windows XP and it allowed me to edit the file. I was getting frustrated why it wouldn't let me Run as Admin, oh well.

    You're welcome lol
     

Share This Page