23" ACD - good?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by sr5878, Sep 5, 2008.

1. sr5878 macrumors 6502a

Hey folks,

I've seen several negative reviews of the 23" and 30" ACD here on the boards, and I wanted some opinions from some people who own one.

Do you see a noticable grain or glitter effect on whites?

How are blacks?

I am a graphic designer who is slowly moving into print work, and I really want good color representation -- the 20" Acer TN panel I'm using with my MBP is just not trustworthy with colors. I was going to go for a 24" Dell ultrasharp, but I actually found an ACD for $450. I'm waiting for that to ship, but in the meantime can anyone confirm or relieve my slight case of buyers remorse? :) Please be honest!

2. iToaster macrumors 68000

iToaster

The ACD is an awesome display for color accuracy. I've really seen a difference in the stability of the display. The panel is great and the blacks are fairly black. I believe that the 23" ACD has the shortest warm up time to unchanging colors (not sure where I read that at the moment). Trust me, this is a purchase you won't regret making.

3. sr5878 thread starter macrumors 6502a

thanks iToaster.

has anyone observed the shimmering effect? I've seen it on a 20" acd, but i didn't have any problems with ghosting or flickering.

4. hexonxonx macrumors 601

None on my 23" ACD.

5. LeoFio macrumors regular

No shimmering, ghosting, flickering on the one I bought a few weeks ago.

I did have 3 stuck pixels when I first turned it on, but one light flick of my finger fixed them.

6. sr5878 thread starter macrumors 6502a

thanks guys, you rock.

if anyone else has experience with this display, please post!

7. forty31 macrumors newbie

I have nothing but good things to say about both of mine. They are great monitors...you won't regret getting them.

8. Cubit macrumors newbie