23" ACD with 1.5 GHZ 17" G4 Pbook-will it work? please help.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by capsule, Jun 21, 2007.

1. capsule macrumors newbie

Hello-

Quick version if you don't want to read my whole story: Will I have any major troubles using a 23 inch Cinema Display as a display for my 17 inch 1.5 GHz powerbook with 1 GB of RAM? Thanks.

Whole story:
    I am by no means a regular here, but hope someone might offer some kind advice. I have searched the forums for the info I need but can't seem to find assurance.

I purchased a 17 inch 1.5 GHz Powerbook with 1 GB of RAM in Fall 2004. I am an illustrator who works regularly in Illustrator and Photoshop and occasionally Flash. Generally things run smoothly though sometimes the fans kick in and become a minor annoyance. The machine has become my primary computer for creating art and thus I need a new monitor to make things more comfortable posture-wise for long bouts of work.

I hope to purchase a refurb 23 inch ACD with long term intentions of possibly upgrading to a Mac Pro. I am curious if anyone has any experience with such a setup or if those of you with more technical knowledge might advise on the sort of performance I can expect with this setup. Will the ACD create any sort of strain? Buying the monitor refurb for $750 doesn't seem as grand a step as a whole new setup and I certainly would have to put that other sort of purchase off until the new OS is released. Thank you for reading all this-any advice is appreciated.

P.S. if I missed the answer elsewhere in the forums I apologize. thank you again.

chris

2. theLimit macrumors 6502a

theLimit

I have used my 15" PowerBook G4 with a variety of monitors and never had any type of problem whatsoever. It even runs the 30" ACD in my music instructor's office. I never noticed any added strain, such as beachballs or fan noise.

3. capsule thread starter macrumors newbie