24" iMac 3.06GHz freezing after Crucial install

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Mike2128, May 25, 2008.

  1. Mike2128 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #1
    I have to say, I'm a big fan of this computer. I'm new to Apple computers and I've had nothing but great luck with it thus far. I got this one the day they refreshed the line with the speed boosts.

    However, I just ordered 4GB of memory from Crucial and installed it the other day. Lately I've been ripping all of my dvd's into Apple TV format using Handbrake. This had been working fine ... but since I installed the 4GB, if I'm ripping a movie and then sync either my iPhone or nano through iTunes, the screen will completely freeze up. My mouse will move around for about 3 minutes (unable to click on anything) before it turns into the pinwheel and won't come out of that without shutting the computer off altogether.

    Any advice?
     
  2. macintosh tech macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #2
    Sounds like bad RAM. Put the original sticks back in and test it out. If you don't get the same problems, it is safe to say the Crucial RAM is the culprit (not surprised). At that point RMA it or return it and buy something else.
     
  3. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Sounds like you have the same problem I have

    It started just recently. First incident was EyeTV Hybrid recording a show, and quicktime simultaneously playing another movie. Quicktime & eyeTV stopped responding, the mouse was unable to click things, and I couldn't force quit

    Now, every time I attempt to record my screen with "Screen Movie Recorder" it freezes, and stops responding. I always lose the video file it records because it is forced to quit before saving

    I don't understand why the video stuff does this, I even stopped using quicktime at the same time, in order to allow more processor power to the program recording/encoding


    I hope someone who has this issue was able to fix it, I don't know where to begin.
     
  4. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #4
    it could very well be that the ram wasn't installed properly. before exchanging it, make sure to push the ram chips all the way in until you know it won't go any further. if the imac still freezes up on you, then get an exchange.
     
  5. kiwi031 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5


    My thoughts exactly. You could try removing the RAM and putting them back in, just a simple troubleshooting technique. Noob comment, but the RAM you sourced from Crucial is Exactly the ram for the new imacs? 800mhz etc? Non-ECC??? Its not the same RAM as the previous iMacs. Goodluck!
     

Share This Page