24" iMac - Right clicking crashes Finder

Discussion in 'iMac' started by JoshFink, Oct 11, 2007.

  1. JoshFink macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    Ok.. I'm a windows convert who couldn't get away from my 2 button mouse. I have a logitech wireless where the base plugs into the USB port.

    If I'm in finder and I right click anywhere, like to create a new folder and such, finder will crash and restart and I lose my finder window.

    Any ideas on how track down what the problem is?

    Thanks

    Josh
     
  2. g-7 macrumors 6502

    g-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    Do you have Stuffit Deluxe installed? There was a problem with its plugin.
    Update to the latest version of Stuffit, or just open
    /Users/YOUR_ACCOUNT/Library/Contextual Menu Items/ and remove the
    "StuffItCM.plugin" file from there. It might help.
     
  3. JoshFink thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    Strange... I do have StuffIt installed but I don't have this plugin. Would it be anywhere else?

    Thanks

    Josh
     
  4. g-7 macrumors 6502

    g-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    You may also check /Library/Contextual Menu Items.
    This plugin is not included in the free StuffIt version, only with StuffIt Deluxe.

    Do you have anything in any of the Contextual Menu Items folders - in your home
    directory (/Users/YOU/Library/Contextual Menu Items) or the root directory of
    your hard drive (/Library/Contextual Menu Items)? Such plugins are common
    cause of Finder crashes: when you do a right-click, Finder checks those folders
    before opening the contextual menu and launches those plugins. If they
    misbehave somehow, they can lead Finder to crash.
     
  5. JoshFink thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Nice... It was in /Library/Contextual Menu Items

    I removed it and it works great now.

    Thanks for the help

    Josh
     

Share This Page