24 inch iMac or Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by flexish, Aug 26, 2007.

1. flexish macrumors newbie

Hi,

As the topic title says I'm torn between the baseline Macbook Pro and the baseline 24 inch iMac. Performance wise they are quite equal. This big difference is, obviously, that the Macbook Pro is portable and the iMac isn't. I'm a student and therefore it would seem practical to choose the notebook. However what draws me to the iMac is the screen real estate. I know plugging an external monitor onto the Macbook Pro could even that out, I don't however have the money for and external monitor at this point.

So basically my question is what are the pros/cons with the Macbook Pro, iMac respectively, why should I choose one over the other?

2. 150hp macrumors regular

Well, I chose an iMac. The screen size was the factor. I wanted "big".

Hey, if you need portability, you could go the same route I took & get an emate:D

3. eXan macrumors 601

eXan

MacBook Pro is faster at games, but thats about it.

If you need portability, go for MBP. If not, iMac.

4. iToaster macrumors 68000

iToaster

If you need the portability, you would love the MBP (my choice). If you really don't have to take it with you, you might as well get the iMac (more screen, hard drive, etc)

5. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

wakerider017

When I started college I had a laptop and a desktop... Never really used the laptop so I sold both my laptop and desktop to buy an iMac...

Had a 24" white iMac for about a year, and I just sold it to buy a 24" aluminum iMac...

Portability is not a priority for me... Screen size is.

6. sammyman macrumors 6502a

I am in the same boat. The reason why I might go with the MBP is that with the student discount you get $200 off, plus $200 towards an iPod. The iMac only gets $100 off plus $100 toward iPod.

7. skye12 macrumors 65816

skye12

iMac makes a lot of sense...if you need a laptop buy an inexpensive
    ibook.