24' intel imac dying -

Discussion in 'iMac' started by teddyofindy, Jul 27, 2012.

1. teddyofindy macrumors newbie

I bought the 24' intel imac when it first came out the end of 2006, and used it ever since, mostly for web browsing, managing pictures and musics using iphoto and itune. A few weeks ago, I noticed the slowdown when I using safari, and it has been slower and slower since. I realized this was due to the dying of the hard drive, so I backed up my data immediately (painfully slow but I did it) when I got a chance.

Now what I need you guys advise. I don't know if it is worth to get it fixed and if so how, considering it is a old mac still with Tiger on it. I am not tech savvy, so I don't know if I can just do a resinstallation of the OS, or should I put in a new hard drive. any recommendation for that? How much would it cost?

any comments and suggestions will be much appreciated.

2. excommie macrumors regular

Get a new HD or SSD. If you don't want to open it up - SSD over Firewire works extremely well. You won't get the max speeds, but most applications open in single bounce, computer boots in less than 25 seconds over FW800.

3. RedCroissant Suspended

If it is still usable and you don't feel the need to upgrade to a newer machine, then I would definitely recommend getting a new HDD. If you live near a geek squad, get them to do the install for you($50). All you have to do is choose a HD and you can get one that matches the one you have now(Serial ATA 1.5Gbps) but this one is 320GB capacity from newegg.com for $179.

4. NatefromRI macrumors newbie

5. teddyofindy thread starter macrumors newbie

My iMac was definitely useable before the HD failing. I don't want to spend much on a replacement HD, defintely not SSD. I don't know if the following HD will work as a replacement. My iMac is the late 2006 white one, 2.16ghz intel core 2 duo with 250gb serial ATA drive.